Set/Get Volume in Javascript for the ActiveX-plugin fails ??

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
maersk
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 01:04

Set/Get Volume in Javascript for the ActiveX-plugin fails ??

Postby maersk » 17 Jan 2006 02:13

Hi.

I'm trying to set and get the volume of the VLC ActiveX plugin but it seems to fail in IE.

I'm embedding the object as shown below. The player plays nicely, but trying to get the volume (in a javascript section) using on of the following methods fails

--------------------------------------------
volume = document.vlc.Volume();
volume = document.vlc.volume();
volume = document.vlc.getvolume();
volume = document.vlc.getVolume();
volume = document.vlc.Getvolume();
volume = document.vlc.GetVolume();
volume = document.vlc.get_volume();
volume = document.vlc.get_Volume();
volume = document.vlc.Get_volume();
volume = document.vlc.Get_Volume();
--------------------------------------------

Am I a fool trying to get the volume out of a ActiveX component trying to use javascript ?

Kind regards

--PMM

The object code

<object id="vlc"
name="vlc"
classid="clsid:E23FE9C6-778E-49D4-B537-38FCDE4887D8"
codebase="https://downloads.videolan.org/pub/vide ... /axvlc.cab"
type="application/x-vlc-plugin"
width="100%"
height="100%"
events="True">
<param name="Src" value="rtsp://myserver/myfile"/>
<param name="ShowDisplay" value="True"/>
<param name="Loop" value="False"/>
<param name="AutoPlay" value="True"/>
</object>

tonsofpcs
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 363
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 10:03
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA
Contact:

Postby tonsofpcs » 17 Jan 2006 09:47

Not sure about JavaScript, but you may want to have a look here: http://wiki.videolan.org/index.php/ActiveX

maersk
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 14
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 01:04

Re: Set/Get Volume in Javascript for the ActiveX-plugin fail

Postby maersk » 18 Jan 2006 01:36

Yep, saw the list, but it merely/mostly mention VB-implementation.

There is also the http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/file/trunk ... README.TXT

Nevertheless, setting and gettign the volume only produces an erroe.

Tried also

volume = document.vlc.getVariable('Volume');

but that fails too with IE.

Seems to me like you can't set/get the volume of VLC in javascript when embedding it as an ActiveX-object. Clearly that must be a mistake.

Kind regards.

--PMM

tonsofpcs
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 363
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 10:03
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA
Contact:

Postby tonsofpcs » 18 Jan 2006 10:56

I don't claim to be a javascript expert, but try the following:
volume = document.vlc.volume;
or
volume = document.vlc.Volume;


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests