how to set http input caching value for VLC plugin?

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
andra_vlc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 17:08

how to set http input caching value for VLC plugin?

Postby andra_vlc » 17 Nov 2006 17:10

For VLC application the http input caching value is set in Setting > Preferences > Input/Codecs > Access modules > HTTP(S), Advanced options. How to set this value for clients viewing webpage containing a vlc plugin?
VideoLAN wiki ActiveX page provides properties and methods that may be used. Could it be the setVariable method used in what way?

Odysee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 15
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 17:18
Location: Germany

Postby Odysee » 17 Nov 2006 17:20

You can add it to the input url string e.g. "http://x.x.x.x:31339/0,100,200,210 :http-caching=1200".

andra_vlc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 17:08

Postby andra_vlc » 17 Nov 2006 17:45

I have MRL value in the form "http://x.x.x.x/stream1", where stream1 is the stream name. Should I add "/0,100,200,210 :http-caching=1200"? What are "0,100,200,210"?

andra_vlc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 17:08

Postby andra_vlc » 17 Nov 2006 18:46

no, it didn't work...
I tried also when there are no stream names, and tried without "0,100,200,210".

Odysee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 15
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 17:18
Location: Germany

Postby Odysee » 17 Nov 2006 19:35

What are "0,100,200,210"?
That was the command from my dbox! No you doesn't need that! But "http://x.x.x.x/stream1 :http-caching=1200" should work :roll:

andra_vlc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 17:08

Postby andra_vlc » 20 Nov 2006 13:22

thank you, but...
1) the server is launched to stream without stream names.
In the web page
<param name="MRL" value="http://x.x.x.x:2017 :http-caching=10000" />
I get the picture and no difference whether this value "10000" is provided or not. That is, it seems to be ignored.
2) the server is launched to stream with stream names.
In the web page
<param name="MRL" value="http://x.x.x.x/stream01 :http-caching=10000" />
No picture can be get.

Odysee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 15
Joined: 25 Oct 2006 17:18
Location: Germany

Postby Odysee » 20 Nov 2006 20:15

Have you tried it to pass the caching params in the options field ?
There it must be an array of strings. I don't know how you can do this in HTML :roll:

andra_vlc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 17:08

Postby andra_vlc » 22 Nov 2006 13:53

Now I have found an example I got the idea, and it seems it works.
In a JScript function called on pressing the button, put the code:

var options = new Array();
options.push(":http-caching=10000");
document.vlc.addTarget("<?php echo "$srvr$atdal$fi"; ?>", options, 4+8, 0);
document.vlc.play();

I'm now trying IExplorer, "vlc" is the object id, $srvr contains "http://" with the server address, and $atdal$fi specifies whether or not it comes with the stream name.
In wiki there is an info on addTarget syntax.

Thanks!


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests