Plugin stopped working?

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
DexDeadly
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2017 07:32

Plugin stopped working?

Postby DexDeadly » 28 Sep 2017 07:36

Hello All,

So I had created a page where I was embedding the VLC player. This was working fine last week and I had no issues with it. I was loading it up in firefox. Chrome yelled at me with the NPAPI is a no no. IE loads a player it looks like but does not load my stream. FireFox which use to work does nothing now. If I look in the console I get the following.

TypeError: vlc.playlist is undefined

Which leads me to believe that the vlc player does not load. Here is my page

Code: Select all

<html> <head> <title>Simply ThinSign</title> <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /> <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/css/animate.css"> <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/css/style.css"> <script src="/js/jquery-1.11.0.min.js"></script> <script src="/js/jquery.lettering.js"></script> <script src="/js/jquery.textillate.js"></script> </head> <body> <div id="container"> <div id="tv"> <embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin" pluginspage="http://www.videolan.org" width="1564" height="880" id="vlc" /> </div> <div id="right_ad"> <?php include "panels/main_side.php"; ?> </div> <div style="clear:both"></div> <div id="bottom_ad"> <?php include "panels/main_bottom.php"; ?> </div> </div> <script type="text/javascript"> <!-- var vlc = document.getElementById("vlc"); vlc.playlist.add("http://x.x.x.x:5004/auto/v570"); vlc.playlist.play(); //--> </script> </body> </html>
If I go to VLC itself and open that URL it still works. I just can't see it within Firefox. Am I doing this wrong? Anything I can do to get it working again? I'd really like to get this to work.

DexDeadly
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2017 07:32

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby DexDeadly » 28 Sep 2017 15:06

I tried downloading version 51 of FireFox and reinstalling that but that did not seem to work either. Just said I needed to download a plugin. I found that it is working within internet explorer. However the window just stays a small 320 x 240. Here is what I have for that.

Code: Select all

<html> <head> <title>Simply ThinSign</title> <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" /> <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/css/animate.css"> <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="/css/style.css"> <script src="/js/jquery-1.11.0.min.js"></script> <script src="/js/jquery.lettering.js"></script> <script src="/js/jquery.textillate.js"></script> </head> <body> <div id="container"> <div id="tv"> <object classid="clsid:9BE31822-FDAD-461B-AD51-BE1D1C159921" codebase="http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/last/win32/axvlc.cab" > <param name="height" value="880" /> <param name="width" value="1564"> <param name="target" value="http://10.1.1.170:5004/auto/v570" /> <param name="autostart" value="true" /> </object> </div> <div id="right_ad"> <?php include "panels/main_side.php"; ?> </div> <div style="clear:both"></div> <div id="bottom_ad"> <?php include "panels/main_bottom.php"; ?> </div> </div> <script type="text/javascript"> <!-- var vlc = document.getElementById("vlc"); vlc.playlist.add("http://10.1.1.170:5004/auto/v570"); vlc.playlist.play(); //--> </script> </body> </html>

da2424
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 310
Joined: 16 Apr 2013 16:57

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby da2424 » 28 Sep 2017 20:56

Hello,

it seems that IE has problems with scripts for ActiveX, which will be started before the site is completely loaded.

With the following changes, it will work for me:

Code: Select all

<body onload="start()"> ... ... ... <script type="text/javascript"> <!-- function start(){ var vlc = document.getElementById("vlc"); vlc.playlist.add("http://10.1.1.170:5004/auto/v570"); vlc.playlist.play(); } //--> </script>
In Firefox, "vlc.playlist is undefined" will be displayed for me, if the plugin was blocked by Firefox ("click to play"). If you reload the page or "click to play" is disabled for VLC, it should work fine.

Henzo
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Sep 2017 21:11

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby Henzo » 28 Sep 2017 21:19

Good day,

How do I fix the below error

No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "undf". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.

The Audio is playing bt no video.

Pls help

adit.mrt
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jun 2018 14:26

vlc.playlist is undefined

Postby adit.mrt » 27 Jun 2018 05:48

<html>
<title>VLC plugin test page</title>
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8"/>
</head>
<body >
<object classid="clsid:9BE31822-FDAD-461B-AD51-BE1D1C159921" codebase="http://download.videolan.org/pub/videol ... /axvlc.cab" id="vlc">
<embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin" pluginspage="http://www.videolan.org" name="vlc" width="720" height="780" target="rtp://@239.255.255.1:5004" />
</object>
<script>
var options = new Array(":aspect-ratio=4:3", "--rtsp-tcp");
var rstp = "rtp://@239.255.255.1:5004";
var id = vlc.playlist.add(rtsp, "fancy name", options);
vlc.playlist.playItem(id);

</script>
</body>

Above is my code. the play video which is working fine in stand alone VLC player but when i tried using firefix browser it is getting " vlc.playlist is undefined " in console and browser is showing white screen no player.. please help

OS: window 7.
vlc: 3.0.2 vetinari
firefox: 60.0.2 (64-bit)

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 04 Jul 2018 18:19

DexDeadly, late answer since I just found out about yr post : seems to me that the issue you are/were having is because mainstream Firefox releases have stopped supporting external plugins like vlc's (and any other plugin).

I've had the same pbm last year and found a workaround, and that is to install and use "ESR" releases of Firefox, which still support plugins. And they do get regular security updates as for normal releases so that's not an issue (right now I'm running FF ESR 52.9.0 (32-bit), no issue at all).

But I'm sure you must have found out about this, also because it affects all FF users that use any plugin, and that's an awful lot of people ^^, not exactly s'thing that would go unnoticed for long.

da2424
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 310
Joined: 16 Apr 2013 16:57

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby da2424 » 05 Jul 2018 14:45

Yes, you're right, Firefox 52.x ESR still supports NPAPI plugins.
But since Firefox 60 ESR, NPAPI support was also removed.
The following browsers continue to support the NPAPI plugin: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NPAPI#Browser_support

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 22 Jul 2018 23:04

Funny thing is, FF tells me that my ESR 52.9.0 (32-bit) version is "up to date" (sic). No mention of any newer ESR release, dunno why...

Anyway, the BIG question is : for all of us happy users of the VLC Web plugin, how will be able to continue streaming e.g. DVB-T TV channels (my case) in our favourite (own-developed, in my case) web app... :?:

I've looked into HTML5, but looks to me it's way off being able to replicate such capabilities. But I might be wrong, in which case I'll gladly read from anyone able to prove me otherwise.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Jul 2018 09:44

Funny thing is, FF tells me that my ESR 52.9.0 (32-bit) version is "up to date" (sic). No mention of any newer ESR release, dunno why...

Anyway, the BIG question is : for all of us happy users of the VLC Web plugin, how will be able to continue streaming e.g. DVB-T TV channels (my case) in our favourite (own-developed, in my case) web app... :?:

I've looked into HTML5, but looks to me it's way off being able to replicate such capabilities. But I might be wrong, in which case I'll gladly read from anyone able to prove me otherwise.
No clue how the future looks like. Does your webpage directly connects to DVB-T?

As for HTML5, it's very limited, indeed, including the absence of deinterlacing...
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 26 Jul 2018 17:39

Right, in fact I don't think there's any way so far in HTML5 to define the video source as being a DVB-T tuner, even though the said tuner is wired via usb and generates a valid stream of video/audio data - however the data needs transcoding from TS to mp4 or whatever the HTML5 player is able to digest, and afaik this is just totally out of WW3C's scope or intent.

This is all very bad news : clearly, as soon as all browsers will have stopped supporting NPAPI type plugins, my web app will become of no use at all. :-|
Unless you guys decide to port the current VLC Web plugin to a more modern/secure environment as supported nowadays by browsers ? Yeah, easier said than done ! :?

Does your webpage directly connects to DVB-T?
not sure I understand the question... but I think the answer is "yes", my app sets the VLC plugin to MRL's like "dvbt://frequency=490000000:bandwidth=8" (plus some options), and in turn the plugin sets the tuner to the right freq. and bw for that specific TV channel (I also have radio channels, but those are internet streams, not using the tuner, we don't have FM radio channels on DVB-T in France).

Does this answer your question ?

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 26 Jul 2018 18:59

Yes. So there is no solution and no clue for now.

Except to have a VLC binary running on the client transmuxing from dvbt to http and read in HTML5.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 26 Jul 2018 21:14

Ok merci, that's precisely what I feared : no solution for the foreseeable future. :cry:

A workaround would be to launch VLC, have it receive the TS stream from the tuner, transmux/transcode it and source the resulting stream (mp4 would be best maybe ?) to an http wrapped stream, which in turn could be accessed by the HTML5 player on the web app/page.

I seem to remember I tried this some time ago, but not very conclusive obviously, though tbh I haven't spent that much time on trying to make it work. Looks like I'm left with no other choice than try harder. :mrgreen:

Unless the VLC binary you mention suddendly makes it way to the VLC Team TO DO list...? :oops:

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 06 Sep 2018 01:50

A sad note today : upon request by FF I have updated to the next release, and...

that's it ! Moved to FF Quantum (even in ESR mode) and this does NOT support NPAPI anymore, and won't forever now.

It's gone, dead, finito. So is the applet I've spent months developing... :-|

zeepee
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Nov 2012 01:21

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby zeepee » 07 Sep 2018 18:04

I thought I could/should add this to my previous post :

- FF Quantum is WAY leaner, faster than previous releases, the difference is just phenomenal ! :shock:

- I've found Pale Moon as an alternative to FF, it does still support NPAPI plugins, and since it's based on old code from FF (which is why I chose this one in particular) it's directly compatible with my TV/Radio applet - and in fact the applet worked fine at first load, just a few design details to iron out but man I've got my applet back, YEAHH !! :D

Of course I'm well aware of limitations and potential security issues when using an "old" browser like Pale Moon - but I don't care one bit since I'll be using it *exclusively* to run my own local applets.

egosum
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 19:32

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby egosum » 19 Sep 2018 10:55

Same problem here.

Our ipcams webapp development is based in vlc web plugin. Now only Internet Explorer supports it via ActiveX.

Now the only way to see directly rtsp streaming from ipcams of all worldwide manufacturers is using Vlc Web Plugin with Internet Explorer

I have using obsolete Firefox ESR 52.9 for clients as provisional but this is not the solution.

Here the repository:

https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/

RSATom
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 513
Joined: 24 Nov 2011 06:55
Operating System: Windows/Linux/OsX
Location: Russia, Tomsk

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby RSATom » 30 Oct 2018 09:16

Same problem here.
One solution still exists, but it's not absolute. You could try switch to WebRTC, and use something like Janus Gateway (now Janus Server) to restream video from ipcams. Janus Gateway is good choice since it allow restream video without transcoding. I've did some proof-of-concept, and it worked for me, but it require ipcam produce video stream compatible with WebRTC (something like h264 baseline profile).

egosum
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Nov 2012 19:32

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby egosum » 30 Oct 2018 18:43

One solution still exists, but it's not absolute. You could try switch to WebRTC, and use something like Janus Gateway (now Janus Server) to restream video from ipcams. Janus Gateway is good choice since it allow restream video without transcoding. I've did some proof-of-concept, and it worked for me, but it require ipcam produce video stream compatible with WebRTC (something like h264 baseline profile).
Thanks for your suggest RSATom,

I've investigating about it recently and I tried this project:

https://github.com/mpromonet/webrtc-streamer

It works ok from rtsp to webrtc and html5 <video></video> but it has a great cost in hardware because transcoding. For less hardware cost the solution suggested by the author of webrtc-streamer is the same that you say: Janus Server.

I will try Janus Server soon. If anybody knows another solutions please share info.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Plugin stopped working?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 10 Feb 2019 22:31

The other solution is to do a small gateway doing RTSP -> HTTP or websocket and use that with VLC.js
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests