VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
SteveRicketts
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 53
Joined: 29 May 2008 00:10

VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

Postby SteveRicketts » 08 Jun 2011 22:02

I'm trying to put the VLC plugin in a div in Windows and Linux. It works on Linux in Firefox. In Windows, when I set autoPlay to true it launches multiple windows, the titles say:

Direct 3D output
YUV SDL output
YUV overlay DirectX output
VLC Colour AsCii Art

Can someone tell me what the heck is going on??.. and how to make it play in the black window that's supposed to be VLC plugin?

The code I'm using is:

function makeVLC(theURL) {
var s='';
s = '<object id="VLCIE" classid="clsid:9BE31822-FDAD-461B-AD51-BE1D1C159921" '
s = s + 'codebase="http://downloads.videolan.org/pub/video ... /axvlc.cab"'
s = s + 'version="VideoLAN.VLCPlugin.2" '
s = s + 'width="' + vidWidth + '" height="' + vidHeight + '" '
s = s + 'events="true"'
s = s + '>'
s = s + '<param name="src" value="' + theURL + '"/>'
s = s + '<param name="showDisplay" value="true" />'
s = s + '<param name="autoLoop" value="false"/>'
s = s + '<param name="autoPlay" value="true"/>'
s = s + '<embed type="application/x-vlc-plugin" '
s = s + 'width="' + vidWidth + '" height="' + vidHeight + '" '
s = s + 'autoplay="no" loop="no" '
s = s + 'id="VLC" '
s = s + 'pluginspage="http://www.videolan.org" version="VideoLAN.VLCPlugin.2" '
s = s + 'target="' + theURL + '" '
s = s + '>'
s = s + '</embed>'
s = s + '</object>'
document.getElementById('divVideo').innerHTML = s;
}

adlammons
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 22 Sep 2010 03:06

Re: VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

Postby adlammons » 04 Nov 2011 14:57

I am having the exact same issue.
I have gone into options and changed the video output away from YUV. However, this has NOT solved the problem.
Has anyone found a solution?

npmaster
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 21
Joined: 16 Sep 2011 16:15
VLC version: 1.1.11
Operating System: Linux/ Windows/ Mac

Re: VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

Postby npmaster » 07 Nov 2011 12:41

what browsers are you guys seeing this issue on?

ice178
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 10:36

Re: VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

Postby ice178 » 08 Nov 2011 16:06

I am having the exact same issue too!
It happen only in ie9, my OS is windows7x64.
How can I manage this?

thanks for reply.

npmaster
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 21
Joined: 16 Sep 2011 16:15
VLC version: 1.1.11
Operating System: Linux/ Windows/ Mac

Re: VLC Plugin opening multiple windows

Postby npmaster » 09 Nov 2011 18:19

I not sure how much help this could be for you. I had this problem and discovered that my loaded the javascript object and html code for the activeX into the DOM cause this to happen on IE9. By not "caching" the code as it were i was able to prevent this from happening. However since so many have this issue i am beginning to think that something might be causing it.

If you doing anything fancy with the your code, like caching. messing with the dom. that might help narrow down the problem.


Return to “Web and scripting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests