How *exactly* do you create skins? not clear on site

About usage, announcement and development of skins for VLC
raistrick
New Cone
New Cone

How *exactly* do you create skins? not clear on site

Postby raistrick » 26 Feb 2006 23:26

I'm a computer scientist, but it doesnt actually say anywhere how you make one, i have tried opening a .vlt file and its not readable. I know about images and xml's etc etc just need an example of what to create and how to test it.

do you have an example i can hack? its always the easiest way to learn. want to make an iTunes 6 skin

cheers

ipkiss
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna

Postby ipkiss » 27 Feb 2006 08:29

raistrick
New Cone
New Cone

Postby raistrick » 28 Feb 2006 01:42

yes you pawned someone else off with that answer i noticed. its useless and you guys wonder why no one seems to make skins for vlc!

you should restructure that and stick some good examples up there, its a b**ch to read, i did find the "rename tar.gz to .vlt" in the end... but tbh if i have to read the whole thing just to learn how to create a basic file i'm not sure i have the patience.

Could probably get to it now but, would mean installing something to create tar.gz files in windows cos that's where photoshop is... etc - can i suggest you guys go about creating a "How to customise a Skin" section? would be far easier to learn!

but if that's the only answer you recieve on here, i'm off to use XMMS ;)

ipkiss
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna

Postby ipkiss » 28 Feb 2006 08:58

yes you pawned someone else off with that answer i noticed. its useless and you guys wonder why no one seems to make skins for vlc!
The remark "it doesnt actually say anywhere how you make one", in your first post, seemed to indicate that you didn't see the page i linked to.
you should restructure that and stick some good examples up there, its a b**ch to read, i did find the "rename tar.gz to .vlt" in the end...