Page 1 of 1

How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 20 Oct 2011 02:10
by belltown
I'm using VLC media player under Windows 7 to stream my computer's Stereo Mix audio channel. I have this working. However, I'd like to know how I can do the same thing from the command line so I can set up a Windows batch file that I can just click to run this.

This is the generated stream output string:

Code: Select all

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=320,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :ttl=1 :sout-keep

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 20 Oct 2011 15:55
by VLC_help
That will do the streaming part. You also need the dshow part for input.

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 20 Oct 2011 18:35
by belltown
How do I find out what the "dshow part" is. When I run the VLC GUI I select Media>Streaming...>Capture Device then Capture mode="DirectShow"; Video device name="None"; Audio device name="Stereo Mix (IDT High Definition " (the rest of the audio device name is truncated, but on the Recording tab under Sounds in my Windows control panel it lists "Stereo Mix" then on the next line "IDT High Definition Audio CODEC"), so does this mean I'll need to specify "Stereo Mix (IDT High Definition Audio CODEC)" as the dshow part? And how do I do this ?

In any case, I'm looking for the actual command I will need to type at the Windows command prompt to do this. I'm not familiar at all with running VLC from the command line, only from the GUI. When I go to the Windows command prompt and type VLC, it brings up the GUI.

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 21 Oct 2011 20:38
by VLC_help
Tools -> Messages (set Verbosity to 2), open it before you do anything else, and it will show dshow options.

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 01 Jun 2014 22:58
by degarb
Is there paid support? Or are we supposed to guess for weeks how to construct a command line via poorly written documentation and empty hints on forum?

There is nothing in messages. Nothing. Now in Modules Tree Input is decoder "packetizer copy" and demux "dshow" audio output "directsound" Stream output is mux dummy.

This tells me nothing that can be used with documentation of hours of googling to construct a working streaming commandline of the soundcard..

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 02 Jun 2014 00:35
by kodela
Here is an example:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --qt-start-minimized dshow:// :dshow-vdev=none :dshow-adev="Stereomix (Realtek High Definit" :sout=#rtp{dst=224.0.0.0,port=5004,ttl=1}
A transcoding is not required.

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 02 Jun 2014 02:59
by degarb
Sorry, but that line offers complaint on XP that the capture failed. Some of us don't have windows 7 or 8.


The below works on xp (the quotes around exe path, probably needed for shortcuts more than batch):

c:Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe -I qt --ttl 12 dshow:// :dshow-vdev="none" :dshow-adev="Realtek HD Audio Input" :dshow-caching=200 :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=512,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw`,dst=:8080/mp3} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :ttl=1 :sout-keep

Just doesn't offer "Streaming" to indicate success, but streaming works. I like how you have a minimize command. Do need a priority command, since the streamer grabs %2 of cpu, even with no sound (which should be on list of todo's).

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 02 Jun 2014 08:45
by kodela
@ degarb:
Are you the opener of this topic? No, it's belltown.
And bell town wrote:
I'm using VLC media player under Windows 7 to stream my computer's Stereo Mix audio channel.
My answer is for belltown, not for you!

Re: How to run this VLC command from command line

Posted: 02 Jun 2014 09:28
by kodela
@ degarb:

I have tested this command line string under Windows XP.

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --qt-start-minimized dshow:// :dshow-vdev=none :dshow-adev="Realtek AC97 Audio" :sout=#rtp{dst=224.0.0.0,port=5004,ttl=1}
It works so well when stereo mix is ​​set as the default recording device.