Page 1 of 1

VLC crashes on loading m3u

Posted: 15 Jun 2010 23:22
by blader
At first i ran VLC 1.0.5 but loading a m3u made it crash/hang.

Now i'm running VLC 1.1.0 rc but this one is complaining that it's unable to find files

File reading failed:

Code: Select all

VLC could not open the file "\\F:\MP3\********************.mp3". Your input can't be opened: VLC is unable to open the MRL 'file://F:\MP3\********************.mp3'. Check the log for details. File reading failed: VLC could not open the file "\\F:\MP3\********************.mp3". Your input can't be opened: VLC is unable to open the MRL 'file://F:\MP3\********************.mp3'. Check the log for details. File reading failed: VLC could not open the file "\\F:\MP3\********************.mp3". Your input can't be opened:
(renamed filenames to ******************)

A small portion i could grab from logging:

Code: Select all

main debug: processing request item 24-**************************.mp3 node Playlist skip 0 main debug: resyncing on 24-**************************.mp3 main debug: 24-**************************.mp3 is at 23 main debug: starting new item main debug: creating new input thread main debug: Creating an input for '24-**************************.mp3' main debug: thread started main debug: thread (input) created at priority 1 (../.././src/input/input.c:214) main debug: using timeshift granularity of 50 MiB main debug: using timeshift path 'C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Local\Temp' main debug: `file://F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' gives access `file' demux `' path `\\F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' main debug: creating demux: access='file' demux='' path='\\F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' main debug: looking for access_demux module: 2 candidates qt4 debug: IM: Setting an input dvdnav warning: cannot open dvdnav main debug: no access_demux module matching "file" could be loaded main debug: TIMER module_need() : 2252.000 ms - Total 2252.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 2252.000 ms) main debug: creating access 'file' path='\\F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' main debug: looking for access module: 2 candidates filesystem debug: opening file `\\F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' filesystem error: cannot open file \\F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3 (No such file or directory) main debug: no access module matching "file" could be loaded main debug: TIMER module_need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms) main error: open of `file://F:\MP3\24-**************************.mp3' failed: (null) main debug: finished input main debug: thread ended main debug: dead input main debug: thread times: real 0m2.254128s, kernel 0m0.000000s, user 0m0.000000s main debug: changing item without a request (current 23/24) main debug: nothing to play qt4 debug: IM: Deleting the input main debug: TIMER input launching for '24-**************************.mp3' : 2310.000 ms - Total 2310.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 2310.000 ms)
System I'm running VLC on is Win7 x64.

Any suggestions?

Re: VLC crashes on loading m3u

Posted: 16 Jun 2010 15:45
by VLC_help
Are the MRLs in yout .m3u file like

Code: Select all

file://F:\MP3\********************.mp3
or like

Code: Select all

F:\MP3\********************.mp3
?

Re: VLC crashes on loading m3u

Posted: 16 Jun 2010 21:09
by blader
Are the MRLs in yout .m3u file like

Code: Select all

file://F:\MP3\********************.mp3
or like

Code: Select all

F:\MP3\********************.mp3
?

m3u is build like this

Code: Select all

01-*****************************.mp3 02-*****************************.mp3 03-*****************************.mp3 etc 23-*****************************.mp3 24-*****************************.mp3
Now I'm running version 0.8.6 and that doesn't seem to have problems with it.

Sometimes with latest version or with RC it did show some songs correct (1 out of 9) but most of them it didn't and it gave errors like showed above.

-update
Did some more testing and the latest working version for me is 1.0.2 after that it fails.

Could it be that there are some faulty registry settings from previous installs?
I selected to remove cache etc during install.

-update2
I was wrong, after applying a skin and changing some simple settings it fails as well :(

-update3
Don't know what happened but after installing latest version again and setting settings to default it seems to work now.
Only thing i didn't was file association to all extensions!!!