Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
h264_aac
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 04:50

Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby h264_aac » 09 Jun 2010 05:44

I'm running VLC on a fresh Windows 7 installation with no additional codec packs installed.
Since I switched from version 1.0.3 to 1.0.5 I experienced bad AAC output quality when using acodec=mp4a with whatever bitrate or samplerate.
The same problem exits for the new 1.1.0-pre4 version.

I have prepared a batch script to produce some sample m4a files:

Code: Select all

vlc-1.0.3\vlc.exe -vvv bach.mp3 :sout="#transcode{acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst=vlc-1.0.3_aac_test_bach.m4a}" :no-prefer-system-codecs vlc://quit vlc-1.0.5\vlc.exe -vvv bach.mp3 :sout="#transcode{acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst=vlc-1.0.5_aac_test_bach.m4a}" :no-prefer-system-codecs vlc://quit vlc-1.1.0-pre4\vlc.exe -vvv bach.mp3 :sout="#transcode{acodec=mp4a,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:std{access=file,mux=mp4,dst=vlc-1.1.0-pre4_aac_test_bach.m4a}" :no-prefer-system-codecs vlc://quit
I noticed that the files encoded by VLC 1.0.3 are always identical regardless how often I run the encoding.
In 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4, however, the files are different each time.

Conversion speed in 1.0.3 is about 4 sec for the 60 sec mp3 input file.
For 1.0.5 it is 6 sec, and for 1.1.0-pre4 about the same.

I'm not sure what happened to the codec after version 1.0.3.
However, if I replace the libavcodec_plugin.dll of 1.0.5 by that from 1.0.3 I get good quality AAC.

Another workaround:
When setting channels=1 the artefacts in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4 seem to disappear and the files are identical each time.

I also tried setting aenc=ffmpeg{aac-profile=low} explicitly but that didn't help.

I wish this could be fixed in 1.1.0 because AAC is important when encoding for mobile devices, escpecially in videos.

----
Sample output
vlc-1.0.3_aac_test_bach.m4a
vlc-1.0.5_aac_test_bach.m4a
vlc-1.1.0-pre4_aac_test_bach.m4a

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby VLC_help » 09 Jun 2010 15:35

Could you share your bach.mp3 ?

h264_aac
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 04:50

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby h264_aac » 09 Jun 2010 16:15

I forgot to say that the AAC output was corrupted with any input files that I used (also videos).

It would be nice if anyone can reproduce it. The VLC versions I used are the Windows builds from VideoLAN website.
I couldn't find anything about this problem on the web but it should not only occur on my system.

----
bach.mp3

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby VLC_help » 10 Jun 2010 18:22

At what points I should hear the artifacts?

geek-du-44
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 23:28

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby geek-du-44 » 20 Jun 2010 15:57

with VLC 1.0.5 for me the audio in video .mov are not output audio.

by the site http://www.davestrailerpage.co.uk/

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby VLC_help » 20 Jun 2010 16:40

geek-du-44: ?

geek-du-44
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 23:28

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby geek-du-44 » 20 Jun 2010 19:32

in french:

pour les videos en .mov avec audio AAC, de Apple.

VLC 1.0.5 lit correctement la vidéo mais il y a pas de son! avec quicktime, si !

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 21 Jun 2010 00:14

File a bug.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

geek-du-44
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 11 Jun 2009 23:28

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby geek-du-44 » 21 Jun 2010 08:21

my probleme is resolve, i reinstall VLC 1.0.5 and delete preference and cache....

h264_aac
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 04:50

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby h264_aac » 31 Aug 2010 12:46

The problem still exists.

Sample outputs for different VLC versions can now be found here:
http://traveldevel.com/vlc-stream-conve ... pted-audio

In the recent 1.1.4 release AAC audio is completely corrupted. :(
Last edited by h264_aac on 21 Sep 2010 02:01, edited 1 time in total.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Corrupted mp4a (AAC) output in 1.0.5 and 1.1.0-pre4

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 04 Sep 2010 18:41

Because old AAC encoder was dropped because of incompatible license.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 53 guests