Page 1 of 1
Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 12 Oct 2009 13:09
by soisses
Hello,
I tried to stream two webcams of the same type. VLC names the first webcam with "Philips SPC1330NC Webcam", the second "Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1". If I use the GUI, there ist no problem. If I use a VLM file to control the webcams, I'cant use the second webcam. Here is my VLM file for the second webcam (this time I do not stream but only display it):
Code: Select all
# Input options
new stream1 broadcast enabled
setup stream1 input "dshow://"
setup stream1 option dshow-vdev="Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1"
setup stream1 option dshow-adev=
setup stream1 option dshow-caching=150
setup stream1 option dshow-fps=25
setup stream1 option file-caching=0
setup stream1 output #transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=1800,fps=25,scale=1.0,acodec=mpga,ab=64,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:display
control stream1 play
VLC gives this error message:
Code: Select all
Capture failed:
VLC cannot use the device "Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1"", because its type is not supported.
I think that there is a problem with the second quotation mark in the error message, and because of this, vlc can't open the capture device.
Is there any solution for it?
Thanks in advance
Manfred
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 12 Oct 2009 13:26
by VLC_help
Could you give us more messages? (ones from message log)
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 12 Oct 2009 16:06
by soisses
I think that this is the relevant part of the messages log (verbosity level 2):
Code: Select all
main debug: using access module "access_file"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms)
main debug: Using AStream*Stream
main debug: pre buffering
main debug: received first data after 0 ms
main debug: pre-buffering done 438 bytes in 0s - 427734 kbytes/s
main debug: removing module "access_file"
main debug: Creating an input for 'dshow://'
main debug: thread (input) created at priority 1 (../.././src/input/input.c:230)
main debug: thread started
main debug: stream=`transcode'
main debug: looking for sout stream module: 1 candidate
main debug: stream=`display'
main debug: looking for sout stream module: 1 candidate
main debug: using sout stream module "stream_out_display"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms)
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-vcodec to mp4v
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-vb to 1800
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-fps to 25
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-scale to 1.0
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-acodec to mpga
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-ab to 64
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-channels to 1
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-samplerate to 44100
stream_out_transcode debug: codec audio=mpga 44100Hz 1 channels 64Kb/s
stream_out_transcode debug: codec video=mp4v 0x0 scaling: 1.000000 1800kb/s
main debug: using sout stream module "stream_out_transcode"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 10.000 ms - Total 10.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 10.000 ms)
main debug: using timeshift granularity of 50 MBytes
main debug: using timeshift path 'C:\Users\manfred\AppData\Local\Temp'
main debug: `dshow://' gives access `dshow' demux `' path `'
main debug: creating demux: access='dshow' demux='' path=''
main debug: looking for access_demux module: 1 candidate
dshow debug: dshow-vdev: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1"
dshow debug: dshow-adev:
dshow debug: found device: Integrated Camera
dshow debug: found device: MediaLooks Screen Capture
dshow debug: found device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam
dshow debug: found device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: asking for device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1"
dshow error: can't use device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1", unsupported device type
dshow error: can't open video device
dshow debug: found device: Mikrofon (High Definition Audio
dshow debug: asking for default device: Mikrofon (High Definition Audio
dshow debug: asked for Mikrofon (High Definition Audio, binding to Mikrofon (High Definition Audio
dshow debug: using device: Mikrofon (High Definition Audio
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 13 Oct 2009 17:24
by VLC_help
What does it report if you open it via GUI?
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 14 Oct 2009 13:51
by soisses
ok, this is the message log if i use the gui (which is working properly)
Code: Select all
main debug: processing request item Streaming node Wiedergabeliste skip 0
main debug: resyncing on Streaming
main debug: Streaming is at 1
main debug: starting new item
main debug: creating new input thread
main debug: Creating an input for 'Streaming'
main debug: thread (input) created at priority 1 (../.././src/input/input.c:230)
qt4 debug: IM: Setting an input
main debug: thread started
main debug: stream=`transcode'
main debug: looking for sout stream module: 1 candidate
main debug: stream=`display'
main debug: looking for sout stream module: 1 candidate
main debug: using sout stream module "stream_out_display"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms)
qt4 debug: Updating the geometry
qt4 debug: Updating the geometry
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-vcodec to mp4v
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-vb to 1800
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-fps to 25
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-scale to 1
main debug: set config option: sout-transcode-acodec to none
stream_out_transcode debug: codec audio=none 0Hz 0 channels 0Kb/s
stream_out_transcode debug: codec video=mp4v 0x0 scaling: 1.000000 1800kb/s
main debug: using sout stream module "stream_out_transcode"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 10.000 ms - Total 10.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 10.000 ms)
main debug: using timeshift granularity of 50 MBytes
main debug: using timeshift path 'C:\Users\manfred\AppData\Local\Temp'
main debug: `dshow://' gives access `dshow' demux `' path `'
main debug: creating demux: access='dshow' demux='' path=''
main debug: looking for access_demux module: 1 candidate
dshow debug: dshow-vdev: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: dshow-adev: :dshow-caching=200
dshow debug: found device: Integrated Camera
dshow debug: found device: MediaLooks Screen Capture
dshow debug: found device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam
dshow debug: found device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: asking for device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: asked for Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1, binding to Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: using device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: EnumDeviceCaps: output pin: Capture
dshow debug: EnumDeviceCaps: output pin: Standbild
dshow debug: EnumDeviceCaps: trying pin Capture
qt4 debug: New caching: 0
qt4 debug: New caching: 0
dshow debug: EnumDeviceCaps: input pin default format configured
dshow debug: EnumDeviceCaps: input pin accepts chroma: I420, width:640, height:480, fps:25.000000
dshow debug: CaptureFilter::JoinFilterGraph
dshow debug: connecting filters
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 14 Oct 2009 17:22
by VLC_help
dshow debug: asking for device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1"
dshow error: can't use device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1", unsupported device type
dshow debug: asking for device: Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
dshow debug: asked for Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1, binding to Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1
Yep, it seems that " is causing issue. Does
setup stream1 option dshow-vdev=Philips SPC1330NC Webcam #1 work any better?
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 14 Oct 2009 18:22
by soisses
no, it doesn't work better. the vlm file needs the quotations marks. error message is "wrong command syntax" - see below
Code: Select all
´main debug: creating VLM
main debug: creating access '' path='C:\Users\manfred\Documents\videolanconf\vlc_player2.vlm'
main debug: looking for access module: 5 candidates
vcd debug: trying .cue file: C:\Users\manfred\Documents\videolanconf\vlc_player2.cue
vcd debug: could not find .cue file
access_file debug: opening file `C:\Users\manfred\Documents\videolanconf\vlc_player2.vlm'
main debug: using access module "access_file"
main debug: TIMER module_need() : 30.000 ms - Total 30.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 30.000 ms)
main debug: Using AStream*Stream
main debug: pre buffering
main debug: received first data after 0 ms
main debug: pre-buffering done 442 bytes in 0s - 431640 kbytes/s
main debug: removing module "access_file"
main error: Load error on line 5: setup: Wrong command syntax
qt4 warning: Failed to import vlm configuration file : load "C:\Users\manfred\Documents\videolanconf\vlc_player2.vlm"
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 15 Oct 2009 14:18
by VLC_help
Could you try with VLC 1.1.0 nightly builds? If the same thing happens, I will open trac ticket for this.
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 15 Oct 2009 15:23
by soisses
It also happens with vlc nightly builds. You can try it yourself if you use the VLM file above - it doesn't matter if the webcam is connected or not. When you use a vdev name with # sign in it the error occurs - vlc adds always a quote sign.
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 10 Nov 2009 13:12
by soisses
the problem perists with vlc 1.0.3.
is there any solution for this?
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 10 Nov 2009 16:25
by VLC_help
Sorry, it seems I missed your reply to this thread. No solutions yet AFAIK. I opened ticket for this
trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/3154
Re: Two webcams with the same name
Posted: 26 Feb 2010 15:36
by jesus_
Just wanted to report that I can confirm this bug. You cannot use a # in VLM, and that is exactly what you need when you have 2 identical devices in dshow.