Page 1 of 1

Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 26 Aug 2009 23:25
by ekennedy
This is odd and maybe there is a simple explanation!!

I've build a player using libvlc.dll using C++. Running the player from the hard drive generally doesn't have major issues. However running from a small thumbdrive or DVD (with plugins on the thumbdrive/DVD) results in an access violation right after starting to play. Below is output captured while trying to catch what was going on with a debugger. I"ve used FileMon and ProcMon to try to see if there were any obvious external errors and I don't see any.

'sampler.exe': Loaded 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\ksuser.dll'
First-chance exception at 0x6a59d90b in sampler.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000078.
First-chance exception at 0x00000000 in sampler.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000.

This occurs with XP and Vista.
File type makes no difference.
This issue doesn't occur with 9.9a & previous versions. (I'm thinking of rolling back however 1.0.1 actually stops and starts on a dime which is really nice!)

Below is how I set up vlc. Similar to the sample here on the site.

Code: Select all

const char * const vlc_args[] = { "-I", "dummy", "--no-plugins-cache", "--no-one-instance", "--no-stats", "--no-media-library", "--ignore-config", "--no-video-title-show", "--plugin-path=\\plugins" }; libvlc_exception_init (&ex); m_pVlcInstance = libvlc_new (sizeof(vlc_args) / sizeof(vlc_args[0]), vlc_args, &ex); VLCCATCH(&ex);
I haven't seen this issue in the forums or anywhere else.

Thanks,

ed

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 26 Aug 2009 23:28
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Never heard of that issue. Did you try to remove some plugins?

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 26 Aug 2009 23:49
by ekennedy
Yes.. still have the same issue. Is there a list of the absolute required plugins to get VLC up and running without an exception? Maybe I could build on that??

Thanks!

ed

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 27 Aug 2009 13:34
by VLC_help
Does the same thing happen if you start normal VLC with those same options?

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 27 Aug 2009 13:51
by Beardless2
try to remove the libdirac_plugin.dll from the plugins folder and see if that works.

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 27 Aug 2009 16:21
by ekennedy
Having to roll back to 0.9.9a.

What I've determined is that there is a conflict between some libs I'm using for processing PNGs and VLC 1.0.1. VLC 1.0.1 takes snapshots and exports them as PNG even if I request jpg or bmp. (viewtopic.php?f=14&t=64029&p=214392#p214392)

So basically I'm between a rock and a hard place until it's resolved or I can figure out where the memory issue is.

Thanks!

ed

Re: Access Violation with 1.0.1

Posted: 27 Aug 2009 19:53
by ekennedy
Having to roll back to 0.9.9a.

What I've determined is that there is a conflict between some libs I'm using for processing PNGs and VLC 1.0.1. VLC 1.0.1 takes snapshots and exports them as PNG even if I request jpg or bmp. (viewtopic.php?f=14&t=64029&p=214392#p214392)
Using the same code rolling back to VLC 0.9.9a there is no access violation. I've narrowed it down to the PNG & ZLIB code by removing all of the other graphic code. However since VLC will only export PNG I have to keep it in there..

Thanks!

ed