Page 1 of 1

Cannot get :duplicate to work on Windows

Posted: 17 Dec 2008 18:16
by ChrisHolmesOnline
OS: Windows XP
VideoLAN Version: 0.8.6i

I am transcoding a stream from a DirectShow Video Capture Device (Osprey-450). I can transcode & multicast just fine, and see the multicast on other PC's on our network. But I would like to be able to see the output on the server as it is streaming. So, I tried to utilize duplicate, but it is not working. My command-line syntax is this:

My normal multicast command-line looks like this, and it works:

Code: Select all

vlc –vvv -–ttl=12 dshow:// :dshow-vdev=”Osprey-450 Video Device 1C” :dshow-adev=”Osprey-450 Audio Device 1C” :dshow-caching=800 size=”vga” –sout=”#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=4096,scale=1,acodec=mpga, ab=64,channels=2,audio-sync}:std{access=udp, mux=ts, dst=239.255.12.42:1234}}”
When I try to use duplicate, my command-line looks like this, and this does not work:

Code: Select all

vlc –vvv -–ttl=12 dshow:// :dshow-vdev=”Osprey-450 Video Device 1C” :dshow-adev=”Osprey-450 Audio Device 1C” :dshow-caching=800 size=”vga” –sout=”#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=4096,scale=1,acodec=mpga, ab=64,channels=2,audio-sync}:duplicate{dst=display, dst=std{access=udp, mux=ts, dst=239.255.12.42:1234}}”
Problem: This displays to the screen, but does not perform the multicast.

I have tried removing the double-quotes from the --sout command, but on a Windows machine this does not work. There has to be something wrong with my syntax. I hope someone can point me to a correction.

Thanks,

-Chris

Re: Cannot get :duplicate to work on Windows

Posted: 17 Dec 2008 22:16
by VLC_help
You really have to see the stream? Does removing dst=display, help?