Page 1 of 1

Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 13 Nov 2008 21:10
by DSmidgy
Hi,

I'm having trouble using playlist in web interface (http://localhost:8080/ or http://localhost:8080/old).
If I choose a channel (example 21), it moves to it. If I then press Next button (in web or in VLC) it starts from the channel 1.

After choosing a web's playlist item, the VLC playlist's item isn't selected (bold). That is probably the cause the next button doesn't work. Does anyone know how to overcome this problem?
I also noticed that number buttons do not work like in FripTV. Is there any plan to implement this?

Because I can't report a Trac ticket, can please somebody do this for me?

Thank you,
Dominic

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 08:19
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Why can't you report a trac ticket?

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 18:06
by DSmidgy
On site "https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/" is says:
Note to users: Spammers have been targeting our VLC trac, forcing us to disable creating and editing of Tickets for non validated accounts. Please register first and then have your account validated by us. To validate, please join #videolan on irc.freenode.net (or use the web interface). It might take a while before we answer, and please keep in mind that most of us are in European timezones.

I went on the IRC channel, but there was no replay to my question if someboty can valideta my account (Trac username is also DSmidgy).
I really didn't saw the point breaking the conversations with my begging for account validation.

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 18:16
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
You are now validated.

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 18:21
by DSmidgy
Thank you for your help.

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 14 Nov 2008 18:36
by DSmidgy
The ticket, related to this problem is https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2286.

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 16 Nov 2008 11:21
by DSmidgy
I saw that "goto" command in "rc" console works OK. Is there any way to send a command to that console within normal window command line?
I want to configure HIP (http://www.byremote.com.au/), so I can change playlist item with + and - and with num. buttons on my remote (I execute wget).

Re: Bug: playlist on web interface

Posted: 16 Nov 2008 12:12
by DSmidgy
I'm not very familiar with C(++), but I looked into the VLC's 0.9.6 source code.

In "modules/control/rc.c", line 1418, there is a line for RC's GOTO command:

Code: Select all

playlist_Control( p_playlist, PLAYLIST_VIEWPLAY, pl_Unlocked, p_parent, p_item );
For HTTP in file "modules/control/http/macro.c", line 220, the NEXT command calls:

Code: Select all

playlist_Control( p_sys->p_playlist, PLAYLIST_SKIP, true, 1 );
I presume the "1" is for 1 item more, because the PREVIOUS command has "-1".

For the PLAY + ITEM command on line 202:

Code: Select all

playlist_Control( p_sys->p_playlist, PLAYLIST_VIEWPLAY, true, NULL, playlist_ItemGetById( p_sys->p_playlist, i_item, true ) );
Maybe that NULL in the line 202 is the culprit?