Page 1 of 1

Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 01 Nov 2008 00:46
by ObeseCoder
I am running VLC 0.9.4 on Windows XP ... DViCO FusionHDTV Lite 5 card (drivers 3.68.00)

try to open a capture, I am receiving the message:
Your input can't be opened:
VLC is unable to open the MRL 'dvb-t://'. Check the log for details.

I am using:
dvb-t:// :dvb-frequency=675250 :dvb-bandwidth=8

the debug messages:
main debug: starting new item
main debug: processing request item dvb-t:// node Playlist skip 0
main debug: resyncing on dvb-t://
main debug: dvb-t:// is at 2
main debug: creating new input thread
main debug: Creating an input for 'dvb-t://'
main debug: waiting for thread initialization
main debug: thread started
main debug: thread 6596 (input) created at priority 1 (input/input.c:370)
main debug: `dvb-t://' gives access `dvb-t' demux `' path `'
qt4 debug: Updating the stream status: 3
main debug: creating demux: access='dvb-t' demux='' path=''
main debug: looking for access_demux module: 0 candidates
main warning: no access_demux module matched "dvb-t"
main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 0.000 ms - Total 0.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 0.000 ms)
main debug: creating access 'dvb-t' path=''
main debug: looking for access module: 1 candidate
bda warning: FindFilter: No filter connected: hr=0x80004005
bda warning: Build: Cannot load tuner device and connect network provider: hr=0x80004005
bda warning: SubmitDVBTTuneRequest: Cannot Build the Graph: hr=0x80004005
bda warning: DVB_Open: Unsupported Network dvb-t
main warning: no access module matching "dvb-t" could be loaded
main debug: TIMER module_Need() : 46.000 ms - Total 46.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 46.000 ms)
main error: open of `dvb-t://' failed: could not create access
main debug: finished input
main debug: dying input
main debug: thread ended
qt4 debug: Destroy the Interaction Dialog
qt4 debug: Hide the Interaction Dialog
qt4 debug: Updating the stream status: 8
main debug: dead input
main debug: thread times: real 0m0.078124s, kernel 0m0.031250s, user 0m0.000000s
main debug: thread 6596 joined (playlist/engine.c:244)
main debug: TIMER input launching for 'dvb-t://' : 127.000 ms - Total 127.000 ms / 1 intvls (Avg 127.000 ms)
main debug: starting new item
main debug: changing item without a request (current 2/3)
main debug: nothing to play


the bundled FusionHDTV software works fine (version 3.68.00)
ProgDVB works on this card as well

I can't seem to get it to work. Please help :cry:

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 01 Nov 2008 16:49
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf

Code: Select all

bda warning: FindFilter: No filter connected: hr=0x80004005 bda warning: Build: Cannot load tuner device and connect network provider: hr=0x80004005 bda warning: SubmitDVBTTuneRequest: Cannot Build the Graph: hr=0x80004005 bda warning: DVB_Open: Unsupported Network dvb-t
Maybe kenS knows...

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 04 Dec 2008 14:34
by KenS
Do you have BDA drivers installed?

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 04 Dec 2008 18:46
by ObeseCoder
thank you for responding, i am still unable to get this to work

yes there are some BDA drivers installed, here is what is listed for my device:
- FusionHDTV, WDM Video Capture
- FusionHDTV, BDA Receiver(ATSC-A)
- FusionHDTV, BDA Tuner(LG062F)
- FusionHDTV, WDM Tuner(LG062F)
- FusionHDTV, WDM Crossbar (Tuner/SVHS/Video)

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 05 Dec 2008 05:58
by KenS
I see your problem. You are using the ATSC standard which is superior to the obscure DVB-T used only in that small outpost called the rest of the world outside the USofA. Instead of dvb-t:// try atsc:// but I cannot guarantee that it will work. The module has been coded into the BDA module but ATSC is so advanced that it might exceed the capabilities of a primitive piece of code like this. :wink:

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 05 Dec 2008 23:42
by ObeseCoder
I sense your sarcasm, please remember though, not everyone that lives in the USofA feels that they are the center of the universe, as you are implying. :-|

We'll I am using the GUI, and i swapped out the dvb-t:// for a astc:// ... it didn't give me any errors, nor did it display anything ... i guess i will not be able to use VLC with this card. That is a bummer, i was really hoping that this would be the solution I was looking for.

FYI: the resulting command line(s) i tried was
"atsc:// :atsc-frequency=675250 :atsc-bandwidth=-1"
AND
"atsc:// :dvb-frequency=675250 :dvb-bandwidth=-1"

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 Dec 2008 00:55
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
I sense your sarcasm, please remember though, not everyone that lives in the USofA feels that they are the center of the universe, as you are implying. :-|
This was a joke, come on...
We'll I am using the GUI, and i swapped out the dvb-t:// for a astc:// ... it didn't give me any errors, nor did it display anything ... i guess i will not be able to use VLC with this card. That is a bummer, i was really hoping that this would be the solution I was looking for.

FYI: the resulting command line(s) i tried was
"atsc:// :atsc-frequency=675250 :atsc-bandwidth=-1"
AND
"atsc:// :dvb-frequency=675250 :dvb-bandwidth=-1"
Then, I am afraid that either you switch to linux, or you help the VLC community to code it.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 Dec 2008 02:11
by ObeseCoder
This was a joke, come on...
I got that, but not many people find stereotypes funny when its directed at them
Then, I am afraid that either you switch to linux, or you help the VLC community to code it.
I wish I was that good of a coder to have even a small contribution to this amazing project, unfortunatly my expertise is with higher level programming languages, mostly business apps

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 Dec 2008 02:54
by KenS
So back to the task at hand.
First up I had to resurrect my vlc development environment which I haven't used in over a year. Finally got git working and downloaded the latest software.
Just got it to compile but I'm getting a link error in the qt4 module.
Had a look into the ATSC (which reminds the - the US analogue system was called NTSC - Never Twice the Same Color) and found some code I had commented out. The code relates to three variables specific to ATSC: Major Channel, Minor Channel and Physical Channel.
Reason I commented them out is:
1) I have no idea of the values required and which variables actually work
2) By default I would call the command line parameters dvb-majorchannel, dvb-minorchannel and dvb-physicalchannel but then I realised that ATSC is not DVB so the naming is inappropriate
3) I need to code in the new parameters
4) I can't test if it works or not
so like a true diligent programmer I threw up my arms with a "stuff it all" and committed with the code commented out.

So to get it working this is what needs to happen:
1) if you've got your card working with another app - let me know which parameters are used and what sort of numbers get assigned. I've deduced that 675250 is the Physcial channel
2) I've got to get my dev environment working again - could take a while plus I think my developer password has expired.
3) We'll have to coordinate so as I make the changes you test them out
4) You are gonna have to put up my jibes for a whole lot longer and it only gets worse :lol:

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 Dec 2008 03:34
by ObeseCoder
Thank you for doing this.
So to get it working this is what needs to happen:
1) if you've got your card working with another app - let me know which parameters are used and what sort of numbers get assigned. I've deduced that 675250 is the Physcial channel
I'm looking through the apps now for settings that resemble the parameters you're looking for
4) You are gonna have to put up my jibes for a whole lot longer and it only gets worse :lol:
not a problem 8)

I might be able to setup a dev environment at my place to test and debug too. i'll look through the docs at setting up a sandbox

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 Dec 2008 12:08
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
So back to the task at hand.
First up I had to resurrect my vlc development environment which I haven't used in over a year. Finally got git working and downloaded the latest software.
Just got it to compile but I'm getting a link error in the qt4 module.
explain.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 07 Dec 2008 02:00
by KenS
At link time I get ....

Creating library file: .libs/libqt4_plugin.dll.a
.libs/libqt4_plugin_la-qt4.o: In function `StaticqjpegPluginInstance':
/home/ken/projects/vlc/modules/gui/qt4/qt4.cpp:55: undefined reference to `qt_plugin_instance_qjpeg()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[6]: *** [libqt4_plugin.la] Error 1

Which I can work around by commenting out of qt4.cpp the line
Q_IMPORT_PLUGIN(qjpeg)

I think this is telling me that qt4.cpp is compiled to expect a static library containing qt_plugin_instance_qjpeg() but by commenting it out it assumes its in a DLL.
Doesn't affect anything I'm doing so I didn't look any further.

Looks like enabling ATSC should be pretty easy. Seems that Major channel and Minor channel apply to ATSC over cable so I'm ignoring these for now. I've set up the module to read Physical Channel from dvb-frequency

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 07 Dec 2008 15:23
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
yes, you need newer contribs, but you did the right thing.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 20 Apr 2009 18:57
by Lotesdelere
So back to the task at hand.
First up I had to resurrect my vlc development environment which I haven't used in over a year.
KenS we need you!
DVB actually doesn't work in VLC 1.0.0 nighlty builds for Windows and I can't imagine a release without this feature which has been a great improvement.

Please come back!

http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2518
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2605

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 21 Apr 2009 14:04
by stevedee3
So back to the task at hand.
First up I had to resurrect my vlc development environment which I haven't used in over a year.
KenS we need you!
DVB actually doesn't work in VLC 1.0.0 nighlty builds for Windows and I can't imagine a release without this feature which has been a great improvement.

Please come back!

http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2518
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/2605
x2! :)

Did DVB-T ever work in v1.0.0?
If so we can diff between the last working version and the first broken version to look for clues...
If not then I wonder what changed between 0.9.9 and 1.0.0 that might have broken DVB-T support??

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 27 Apr 2009 08:43
by stevedee3
Fixed in http://nightlies.videolan.org/build/win ... -win32.exe - Hooray :D

A big thanks to Laurent Aimar and to anyone else who helped fix this!

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 27 Apr 2009 12:16
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Great. Can you check about the frequencies? Ie, if you have to add 000 or not?

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 27 Apr 2009 18:24
by Lotesdelere
Can you check about the frequencies? Ie, if you have to add 000 or not?
Yes I now have to add 000 to the frequency that I was used to use in v0.9.x.

Examples:

With v0.9.8a:
dvbt:// :dvb-frequency=642000 :dvb-bandwidth=8

With v1.0.0-pre2-20090426-2205:
dvbt:// :dvb-frequency=642000000 :dvb-bandwidth=8

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 28 Apr 2009 14:09
by stevedee3
Great. Can you check about the frequencies? Ie, if you have to add 000 or not?
Yes, I do have to add "000", but only on the command line, i.e. I need to specify the frequency in Hz on the command line but in kHz in the GUI.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 28 Apr 2009 16:36
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Great. Can you check about the frequencies? Ie, if you have to add 000 or not?
Yes, I do have to add "000", but only on the command line, i.e. I need to specify the frequency in Hz on the command line but in kHz in the GUI.
It should be fixed now.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 May 2009 03:03
by KenS
Please come back!
Sorry for being AWOL folks. Had to concentrate on the day job and make sure I keep it :)

Thanks to Laurent Aimar for the great work - looks like stuff that is beyond my abilities.

Re: Help with DVB-T + BDA + VLC

Posted: 06 May 2009 12:33
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Please come back!
Sorry for being AWOL folks. Had to concentrate on the day job and make sure I keep it :)

Thanks to Laurent Aimar for the great work - looks like stuff that is beyond my abilities.
Hey! You did awesome work!
Laurent 'just' fixed what was broken... :)