Pause doesn't response immediately

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
Vince_Ong
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

Postby Vince_Ong » 15 May 2007 00:02

I am new to VLC. Every time I click on the pause button or the space bar, it takes about 5 secs before pause is activated. Does anyone know how to make pause react immediately?

DJ
Cone Master
Cone Master

Postby DJ » 15 May 2007 02:00

Do you have a very slow (old) machine???

Have you changed the Buffer size?

Try deleting VLC's preferences folder. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner (this is you)\Application Data\VLC Erase VLC. Application Data is a hidden directory so you will need to make it visible.

Vince_Ong
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

Postby Vince_Ong » 15 May 2007 03:37

Thanks for your reply. Mine is a Dual CPU (1.83GHz) Fujitsu LifeBook with 2GB memory which I got in Feb.

VLC contained about 350k of data which I have deleted, but the problem remains.

Vince_Ong
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

Pause doesn't respond immediately

Postby Vince_Ong » 15 May 2007 03:40

How do I change buffer size?

DJ
Cone Master
Cone Master

Postby DJ » 15 May 2007 04:46

Well, It's not an old slow machine! 8) But as a reminder, most all encoders and decoders will only use 1 core. So this will be a problem with High Definition files over 480p. Other than this there really shouldn't be any problems.

By increasing the buffer time, increases the pause and start times, which are normally instantaneous. Decreasing the buffer can cause issues in syncing audio and video.

1. Try erasing the preferences directory. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner (this is you)\Application Data\VLC Erase VLC, Application Data is a hidden directory so you will need to make it visible.