Audio/Video Problems, Help Please!!!!

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
paz
New Cone
New Cone

Audio/Video Problems, Help Please!!!!

Postby paz » 10 Apr 2007 23:23

Let me start by stating that I am somewhat computer illiterate. By this I mean that while I am competent in the basics, but when it comes to issues of configuring, programming, and a lot of the terminology I’ve been reading on the forums in searching for a solution to my problem, I am a bit behind the times. I have very little to no experience in dealing with the different types of media that are being discussed; I pretty much only use my computer for e-mail, creating word documents, internet research, and attending online classes in pursuit of a degree through distance education which is where my problem arises, and is how I came into contact with VideoLan. With that being said I present my problem: This quarter I am taking a class that uses a set of 33 DVD lectures that came with instructions to download VLC 0.8.6a because for whatever reason not all of them work on Windows Media or other players, but do on VLC. I have downloaded VLC but still have some problems. When I view the lectures that work for WMP on WMP they seem to work fine; the sound is a bit strange. It’s as if one were to move their finger up and down on their Adams apple when they were talking. It’s not terrible, a little annoying, but I can deal with it. Likewise, when I play a rented DVD on the Windows Media Player it plays perfectly. However, when I try to view a lecture on VLC, whether it is one that is VLC or WMP compatible, I run into issues. The lecture shows up, starts to play then stops. The video freezes (as if it were paused); the sound stops, but the slider bar and the counter/timer on the bottom keep moving. Eventually the video and sound skips ahead only