Page 1 of 1

Capture Card - Recording to file

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 18:46
by axiomx11
Evironment: WinXP, Videolan 0.8.5, Osprey 50 USB capture card

Instructions I am using:

http://wiki.videolan.org/index.php/How_ ... pture_Card


This does not work for me. When I try the command as given I get:

Code: Select all

Unable to open 'v4l://' Unable to open ''--sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp1v,vb=2030,audio-sync,acodec=mpga,ab=192,channels=2}:std{access=file,mux=mpeg1,url=out_file.mpg}''
When I change it to this:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :v4l-norm=1: '--sout=#transcode{vcodec=mp1v,vb=2030,audio-sync,acodec=mpga,ab=192,channels=2}:std{access=file,mux=mpeg1,url="out_file.mpg"}'
It shows the video in the window, but does not save any file.

When I try doing it with the gui (I think the commands it uses are these):

Code: Select all

dshow:// :dshow-vdev="" :dshow-adev="" :dshow-size="" :sout=#duplicate{dst=std{access=file,mux=ts,dst="C:\Documents and Settings\bkrohne\Documents\Resources\dvd4.mpg"}}
It does not show the video, but it does save a 1k file.

If I select raw output, it makes very large files, but videolan cannot play them.


I read something about some capture stuff only working under Linux. Is this what is happening to me?
http://www.videolan.org/doc/streaming-h ... /ch10.html

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 19:04
by DJ
It would be necessary to know what your card was putting out (source) to suggest a format and container for the transcode.

Press ctrl i while using the capture device and go to the advanced options tab. The format in use will be shown here. The documentation may give some indication as to what the container is i.e. mpeg, mpeg4, raw etc.

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 19:56
by axiomx11
Ok, I see that it is using the I420 codec.

So I tried this command:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev="" :dshow-adev="" :dshow-size="" sout=#duplicate{dst=std{access=file,mux=I420,dst="clip.I420"}}
Which shows no video, and saves a 1k file.


Then I tried this:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :v4l-norm=1: '--sout=#transcode{vcodec=i420,vb=2030,audio-sync,acodec=mpga,ab=192,channels=2}:std{access=file,mux=i420,url="out_file.i420"}'

Which shows the video and saves no file.

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 20:14
by DJ
I420 is a Chroma format and may be considered raw video. In this case you will need to transcode the source into a real format and container.

The commands should look something like this:

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=768,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=std{access=file,mux=asf,dst="C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\My Documents\My Videos\Test.asf"}}

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 20:48
by axiomx11
Thanks that worked!

Excellent.

Posted: 08 Nov 2006 16:52
by axiomx11
Ok so recording works, now I am trying to stream this accross the network.


First I tried my usual methods:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :v4l-norm=1:sout=#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
Plays locally, nothing remote

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :v4l-norm=1:sout=#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=asf,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
Tried using asf, plays locally nothing remote

Code: Select all

vlc "test.asf" :sout=#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
Works fine, after short artifacts, local and remote.


I am getting the thought that I need to transcode this somehow:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=768,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:#duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}
This shows nothing on both local and remote.

Posted: 08 Nov 2006 17:43
by DJ
Considering transcoding is required for streaming and creating a file is the same as streaming other than where you are sending it, I'm not quite sure why you want to change something that worked in your last post???

Didn't you understand why it didn't work before or what was done to make it work?

Posted: 08 Nov 2006 19:13
by axiomx11
Sorry I can be a little dense at times.

Anycase, I looked at it again (of course you have to transcode!), and got a command that works:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev="" :dshow-adev="" :dshow-size="" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=DIV3,vb=768,scale=1,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2}:duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=224.0.0.0:1234}}

Posted: 09 Nov 2006 02:44
by DJ
Cool! 8) Please remember that MPEG TS will work but won't be compatible (using the DivX format) to anything other than VLC. Most programs commonly associate MPEG TS with MPEG 2 or some will allow H.264.