Page 1 of 1

compiling vlc

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 07:51
by arnon357
I'm not used to work in linux style enviroment. can anyone guide me the necessary steps to setup a windows style compilation.
I've already installed cygwin and the supplementary vlc libraries so all I need is a guidance as to the steps to perform compilation

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 14:51
by fkuehne
There is a detailed HOWTO on developers.videolan.org which should cover everything that you need to know :)

If you encounter any further, less general questions, feel free to ask :wink:

http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/CygwinCompileEnvironmentR

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 15:31
by arnon357
i was following the instructions on http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/Cygw ... ntRevB.pdf
and got in troubles with the following:

Still in your Cygwin home directory, create a little batch file, get_svn.bat.
It only needs one line:
c:\program files\subversion\bin\svn" co
svn://svn.videolan.org/vlc/trunk vlc-trunk

it says one line and actually i see two lines. what should i do to perfurm these lines

please help

following the above

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 16:09
by arnon357
Also I'd like to know what should be the noticeable result of the actions above

Posted: 10 Jan 2006 18:19
by fkuehne
You just need to join these two lines. It's a single command actually, which checks out VLC's source to a folder called "vlc-trunk" in the directory where the command is performed.

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 09:35
by arnon357
I didnt notice any effect doing that command. I understod that it should open a directory named vlc-trunck. Am I correct?
how can i see the effect of the command?

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 11:40
by yogeshsarda
I am having the same question. I am following howto document. I got the precompiled libaries.

I am having problem with configuring part. I didn't understand where these bootstrap and configure scrit files should be. I created them with the given text in howto document but when I run ./configure in cygwin, it fails saying command --disable-gtk could not be found.
Please guide me on how to configure the build process.

Also, I want to add new access, demux modules and build vlc player with these modules. How should I go about it? Currently I am trying to build with precompiles libraries. Do I need to build one/some libraries to get my code incorporated in vlc?

I am new to cygwin/vlc, so please baer with me.
thanks

Posted: 11 Jan 2006 21:56
by fkuehne
You should get output that subversion checks out the folders of VLC's source, thus it will list all folders on the first run. Are you sure that subversion / svn installed?

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 08:03
by arnon357
i run config_setup and got the following:

$ ../config_setup
+ AUTOMAKESUCKS=no
+ INSTALLSUCKS=no
+ ACLOCAL_ARGS='-I m4'
+ test -d extras/contrib/bin
+ amvers=none
+ automake-1.9 --version
+ automake-1.8 --version
+ automake-1.7 --version
+ automake-1.6 --version
+ automake-1.5 --version
+ automake --version
+ test none = none
+ set +x
you need automake version 1.5 or later
../config_setup: line 7: --disable-sdl: command not found
Make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
what's the problem?

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:33
by fkuehne
Your automake and probably also your autoconf versions are too old. You need to update them inside your cygwin-installation. These are 2 tools which provide VLC's compilation and the compilation of many other apps.

compiling

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 10:54
by arnon357
again i was compiling and was getting errors:
$ ../config_setup
+ AUTOMAKESUCKS=no
+ INSTALLSUCKS=no
+ ACLOCAL_ARGS='-I m4'
+ test -d extras/contrib/bin
+ amvers=none
+ automake-1.9 --version
+ amvers=-1.9
+ test -1.9 = none
+ gettextize --version
++ gettextize --version
++ sed -e '1s/[^0-9]*//' -e q
+ expr 0.14.5 '>=' 0.11.5
+ autopoint=autopoint
+ GETTEXT=yes
+ pkg-config --version
+ PKGCONFIG=no
+ aclocal=aclocal-1.9
+ automake=automake-1.9
+ autoconf=autoconf
+ autoheader=autoheader
+ set +x
generating modules/**/Makefile.am and m4/private.m4
................................................................. done.
+ rm -f aclocal.m4 configure config.log config.h config.h.in
+ rm -Rf 'autom4te*.cache'
+ rm -f config.guess config.sub missing mkinstalldirs compile depcomp install-sh

+ rm -Rf autotools
+ mkdir autotools
+ rm -f ltmain.sh libtool ltconfig
+ rm -f ABOUT-NLS
+ rm -Rf intl
+ rm -f m4/oldgettext.m4 stamp-pic configure.ac.in Modules.am
+ rm -f stamp-builtin 'stamp-h*' mozilla/stamp-pic
+ rm -f vlc-config.in
+ printf ''
+ '[' yes '!=' yes ']'
+ autopoint -f
autopoint: *** cvs program not found
autopoint: *** Stop.
../config_setup: line 7: --disable-sdl: command not found
Make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.


whats the problem?

compiling

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 11:10
by arnon357
got the following what should i do next?
$ ../config_setup
+ AUTOMAKESUCKS=no
+ INSTALLSUCKS=no
+ ACLOCAL_ARGS='-I m4'
+ test -d extras/contrib/bin
+ amvers=none
+ automake-1.9 --version
+ amvers=-1.9
+ test -1.9 = none
+ gettextize --version
++ gettextize --version
++ sed -e '1s/[^0-9]*//' -e q
+ expr 0.14.5 '>=' 0.11.5
+ autopoint=autopoint
+ GETTEXT=yes
+ pkg-config --version
+ PKGCONFIG=no
+ aclocal=aclocal-1.9
+ automake=automake-1.9
+ autoconf=autoconf
+ autoheader=autoheader
+ set +x
generating modules/**/Makefile.am and m4/private.m4
................................................................. do
+ rm -f aclocal.m4 configure config.log config.h config.h.in
+ rm -Rf 'autom4te*.cache'
+ rm -f config.guess config.sub missing mkinstalldirs compile depcom

+ rm -Rf autotools
+ mkdir autotools
+ rm -f ltmain.sh libtool ltconfig
+ rm -f ABOUT-NLS
+ rm -Rf intl
+ rm -f m4/oldgettext.m4 stamp-pic configure.ac.in Modules.am
+ rm -f stamp-builtin 'stamp-h*' mozilla/stamp-pic
+ rm -f vlc-config.in
+ printf ''
+ '[' yes '!=' yes ']'
+ autopoint -f
tar: Skipping to next header
tar: Archive contains obsolescent base-64 headers

gzip: stdin: invalid compressed data--crc error

gzip: stdin: invalid compressed data--length error
tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
Copying file ABOUT-NLS
+ aclocal-1.9 -I m4
+ autoconf
+ autoheader
+ automake-1.9 --add-missing --copy
configure.ac: installing `autotools/install-sh'
configure.ac: installing `autotools/missing'
activex/Makefile.am: installing `autotools/compile'
activex/Makefile.am: installing `autotools/depcomp'
configure.ac:16: installing `autotools/config.guess'
configure.ac:16: installing `autotools/config.sub'
configure.ac:5141: required file `intl/Makefile.in' not found
Makefile.am:15: required directory ./intl does not exist
../config_setup: line 7: --disable-sdl: command not found
Make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 11:35
by Guest
ur problem can be resolved by including all the relevant packages while running the setup.
a working environment is given in this link,
http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/Cygw ... ntRevB.pdf

please look if you can help my problem,
while building the source code using the config script, I am getting some warnings as,

"underquoted definition of AM_PATH_CPPUNIT
run info <automake> extending aclocal is already registered with AC_CONFIG_FILES "

I am also in a start up stage. Please reply if you get some success.

cp: cannot stat './vlc.exe': No such file or directory

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 13:07
by yanlai20
i was following the instructions on http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/Cygw ... ntRevB.pdf

i run the "../config_setup

after that i want to get a program to run at windows platform

follow the instruction i run "make package-win32-base"
and got in troubles with the following:
-----------------------
$make package-win32-base
OK.
cp "./vlc.win32.nsi" "./vlc-0.8.5-svn/"
cp "./vlc.exe" "./vlc-0.8.5-svn/"
cp: cannot stat './vlc.exe': No such file or directory
make: *** [package-win32-base] Error 1
----------------------------------------

what's wrong?
who can help me? i am a chinese, my english is not very well.
help me, thanks!thanks!

if anyone known about this,leave the message or mail to me
yanlai20@hotmail.com

Posted: 12 Jan 2006 13:37
by arnon357
people i'm having troubles finishing compiling.
The errors are as above although i installed cygwin as instructed.

please help

Posted: 19 Jan 2006 11:18
by Guest
hello arnon, did you got success in building the VLC,
if yes then please revert.

Or if someone can help out with the Make error,
***No targets specified and no makefile found***

I am also unable to fix this error.

Posted: 19 Jan 2006 11:24
by fkuehne
hmm, you need to run ./bootstrap and ./configure [+options] before compiling. Have a look at the respective HOWTO for more information.

Posted: 19 Jan 2006 11:27
by fkuehne
@ yanlai20: did you run "make" before your packaging command? I'm not sure whether a simple make is actually triggered before the packaging. If it isn't, the binary wasn't created yet and thus there is nothing to package :wink:

Posted: 19 Jan 2006 12:24
by Guest
I tried this, and this is what I am getting, Please let me know how to fix this one, so that I can finally do the "make".


$ ../configure_setup
+ AUTOMAKESUCKS=no
+ INSTALLSUCKS=no
+ ACLOCAL_ARGS='-I m4'
+ test -d extras/contrib/bin
+ amvers=none
+ automake-1.9 --version
+ amvers=-1.9
+ test -1.9 = none
+ gettextize --version
++ gettextize --version
++ sed -e '1s/[^0-9]*//' -e q
+ expr 0.14.5 '>=' 0.11.5
+ autopoint=autopoint
+ GETTEXT=yes
+ pkg-config --version
+ PKGCONFIG=yes
+ aclocal=aclocal-1.9
+ automake=automake-1.9
+ autoconf=autoconf
+ autoheader=autoheader
+ set +x
generating modules/**/Makefile.am and m4/private.m4
................................................................. done.
+ rm -f aclocal.m4 configure config.log config.h config.h.in
+ rm -Rf autom4te.cache
+ rm -f config.guess config.sub missing mkinstalldirs compile depcomp install-sh

+ rm -Rf autotools
+ mkdir autotools
+ rm -f ltmain.sh libtool ltconfig
+ rm -f ABOUT-NLS
+ rm -Rf intl
+ rm -f m4/oldgettext.m4 stamp-pic configure.ac.in Modules.am
+ rm -f stamp-builtin 'stamp-h*' mozilla/stamp-pic
+ rm -f vlc-config.in
+ printf ''
+ '[' yes '!=' yes ']'
+ autopoint -f
Copying file ABOUT-NLS
Copying file autotools/config.rpath
Creating directory intl
Copying file intl/ChangeLog
Copying file intl/Makefile.in
Copying file intl/VERSION
Copying file intl/bindtextdom.c
Copying file intl/config.charset
Copying file intl/dcgettext.c
Copying file intl/dcigettext.c
Copying file intl/dcngettext.c
Copying file intl/dgettext.c
Copying file intl/dngettext.c
Copying file intl/eval-plural.h
Copying file intl/explodename.c
Copying file intl/finddomain.c
Copying file intl/gettext.c
Copying file intl/gettextP.h
Copying file intl/gmo.h
Copying file intl/hash-string.h
Copying file intl/intl-compat.c
Copying file intl/l10nflist.c
Copying file intl/libgnuintl.h
Copying file intl/loadinfo.h
Copying file intl/loadmsgcat.c
Copying file intl/localcharset.c
Copying file intl/locale.alias
Copying file intl/localealias.c
Copying file intl/localename.c
Copying file intl/ngettext.c
Copying file intl/os2compat.c
Copying file intl/os2compat.h
Copying file intl/osdep.c
Copying file intl/plural-exp.c
Copying file intl/plural-exp.h
Copying file intl/plural.c
Copying file intl/plural.y
Copying file intl/ref-add.sin
Copying file intl/ref-del.sin
Copying file intl/textdomain.c
Copying file autotools/mkinstalldirs
+ aclocal-1.9 -I m4
/usr/share/aclocal/cppunit.m4:4: warning: underquoted definition of AM_PATH_CPPU
NIT
run info '(automake)Extending aclocal'
or see http://sources.redhat.com/automake/auto ... ng-aclocal
' is already registered with AC_CONFIG_FILES.
autoconf/status.m4:848: AC_CONFIG_FILES is expanded from...
configure.ac:5138: the top level
autom4te-2.5x: /usr/bin/m4 failed with exit status: 1
aclocal-1.9: autom4te failed with exit status: 1
Make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

Posted: 20 Jan 2006 11:31
by yogeshsarda
I am having troubles when on congiguration.

If I install cygwin automake 1.8 or 1.9, aclocal fails. Now when I am using either automake 1.6 or 1.7, auto conf fails. This is the error message I get

+ aclocal-1.7 -I m4
+ autoconf
' is already registered with AC_CONFIG_FILES.
autoconf/status.m4:848: AC_CONFIG_FILES is expanded from...
configure.ac:5138: the top level
autom4te-2.5x: /usr/bin/m4 failed with exit status: 1



When I use automake 1.8 or 1.9, I get
+ aclocal-1.9 -I m4
/usr/share/aclocal/cppunit.m4:4: warning: underquoted definition of AM_PATH_CPPU
NIT
run info '(automake)Extending aclocal'
or see http://sources.redhat.com/automake/auto ... ng-aclocal
' is already registered with AC_CONFIG_FILES.
autoconf/status.m4:848: AC_CONFIG_FILES is expanded from...
configure.ac:5138: the top level
autom4te-2.5x: /usr/bin/m4 failed with exit status: 1
aclocal-1.9: autom4te failed with exit status: 1


Please help me out. Thanks.

Thanks!

Posted: 20 Jan 2006 12:22
by yanlai20
:oops: Fkuehne,thanks,Before i packaging command,i run the make command, by your help i found that make command have errors occured,It's the content of configure-vlc file:
./bootstrap && \
CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/win32/include -I/usr/win32/include/ebml" \
LDFLAGS=-L/usr/win32/lib \
CC="gcc -mno-cygwin" CXX="g++ -mno-cygwin" \
./configure \
--disable-gtk \
--enable-nls --enable-sdl --with-sdl-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--enable-ffmpeg --with-ffmpeg-mp3lame --with-ffmpeg-faac \
--with-ffmpeg-zlib --enable-faad --enable-flac --enable-theora \
--with-wx-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--with-freetype-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--with-fribidi-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--enable-livedotcom --with-livedotcom-tree=/usr/win32/live.com \
--enable-caca --with-caca-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--with-xml2-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--with-dvdnav-config-path=/usr/win32/bin \
--disable-cddax --disable-vcdx --enable-goom \
--enable-twolame --enable-dvdread \
--enable-debug

i copy it from http://developers.videolan.org/vlc/vlc/INSTALL.win32
before this, the content of configure-vlc file i copied from
http://www.firstmiletv.nl/vlc/developers/howto.txt
and got the same error!
First i run "../configure-vlc",then type the "make >/aa" press enter, the the content of file aa about 53.1Kb, I upload it to
http://www.bdcctv.com/downloads/aayou can clicd to view, and make command output message list here:
sorry!it's many letters, i capture the screen and upload the picture http://www.bdcctv.com/downloads/output.jpg,click to view,this picture file about 497KB!

it's all the information!



WindowsXP Professional/cygwin

help me ! thanks!
@ yanlai20: did you run "make" before your packaging command? I'm not sure whether a simple make is actually triggered before the packaging. If it isn't, the binary wasn't created yet and thus there is nothing to package :wink:

Posted: 23 Jan 2006 14:36
by fkuehne
Okay, there is definitelly something wrong with your Matroska-version. Are you using the latest binary package of the 3rd party libraries? Note that you should run a "make clean" after updating your 3rd party libs.

Sorry for the late response, I'm really busy with my real life these days.

Posted: 24 Jan 2006 16:22
by xtophe
I guess you're using gcc 3.4.something and not gcc3.3.1. If the contrib are named contrib-blah-blah-gcc3.3.1-only it's for some reason. Namely the C++ ABI changed and so you shouldn't mix compiler version when you use C++ libraries (like Matroska).