Page 1 of 1

Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 15:40
by roughnecks
Hi.

I'm trying to serve a video file over my LAN (PC1 to PC2, both using latest VLC and both on Windows 10 fully up-to-date).

I set host pc like this:

Code: Select all

:sout=#duplicate{dst=http{mux=ffmpeg{mux=flv},dst=:56789/},dst=display} :sout-all :sout-keep
And this is client's log:

https://gist.github.com/4a88719d9cfbdf56f34f25e62439b643

Both PC can see each other and I can share files via smb but I also tried turning my firewalls off to no avail...
Any help is really appreciated, thanks.

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 20:42
by #thweiss
Try the following Stream-Example on the PC1 and save it as *.bat File.

Code: Select all

@echo off start "" "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --network-caching=300 "http://static.france24.com/live/F24_EN_LO_HLS/live_web.m3u8" :sout=#duplicate{dst=http{mux=ts,dst=:56789/},dst=display} :no-sout-all :sout-keep

On the same Computer (PC1) open a second VLC-Instance with the URL

Code: Select all

http://127.0.0.1:56789/
On the other Computer (PC2) in the LAN use the URL: http://Server-IP:56789/

The Example is for a 64-Bit Installation of the VLC-Player and successful tested with Version 3.0.7.1.

At last, replace the Stream-URL with your Video-File in the Script.

More Command Line-Options are in the next Link:
- https://wiki.videolan.org/VLC_command-line_help/

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 21:03
by roughnecks
Thanks, it worked this time, both streaming the URL and a file of mine... Wondering why setting it up via interface it doesn't at all.

I was thinking to stream something to a friend of mine, since we're confined to our homes... What's the best approach to pause/resuming the stream, since it looks like the client is losing connection in the process. Should I pause and tell my friend to close the client, then I resume and tell him to start the stream once again?

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 21:44
by #thweiss
By losing the Connection with Pause you can try to use a second Script on the PC2 with the Option --http-reconnect.

Script Example for PC2

Code: Select all

@echo off start "" "C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" --network-caching=300 --http-reconnect "http://Server-IP:56789/" :no-sout-all :sout-keep

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 21 Mar 2020 21:54
by roughnecks
Alright, thanks but I'd like to avoid that, my friend isn't very tech-savvy. I'll just tell him to reconnect when I'm playing again :-)

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 22 Mar 2020 09:18
by #thweiss
You can save the Script as *.bat.txt File and send it attached with E-Mail to Your Friend.

He only have to delete the *.txt-File Extension und double Click the saved Scrip (*.bat).

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 22 Mar 2020 14:55
by roughnecks
By losing the Connection with Pause you can try to use a second Script on the PC2 with the Option --http-reconnect.
I tried locally but it's not working.
Once I pause PC1, PC2 loses connection after a few secs and VLC stops entirely.

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 22 Mar 2020 16:01
by #thweiss
Yes, the Option --http-reconnect is useful for a short Pause or a short Interruption in the Data-Transmission, but not for a longer Pause or Break (more than nearly 8 Seconds).

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 22 Mar 2020 16:06
by roughnecks
OK, I see. Thanks for all your help.

Re: Cannot stream over LAN

Posted: 22 Mar 2020 17:46
by roughnecks
Hey, one other question if you don't mind :-)

I'm trying to stream an mkv with embedded subtitles, but they aren't showing up? Tried looking at the command line switches you posted yesterday but it's all very confusing... Do you happen to know how to do it?