Is there a way turn on subtitles by default?

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
blib

Is there a way turn on subtitles by default?

Postby blib » 02 Nov 2005 10:08

I'm fairly new to videolan and it is great! But I have one petpeeve and I suspect/hope it is due to my own inexperience.

Whenever I start an OGM or MKV with hard subs the program has subtitles off by default. I've checked through everything in the subtitles preferences menus and cannot seem to find an enable button anywhere. Further, when loading up a playlist for a series of videos and selecting the subtitle track for the first episode when the program loads up the next episode it always redefaults back to disable. You'd think that the program would automatically apply the preferences for the last video to the next video in a series.

Am I missing something obvious? I've checked through pages of subtitle related questions and don't seem to see anybody else questioning this which makes me suspect that I'm missing something that most people were able to figure out.

Thanx. Any help would be appreaciated.

brian
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

Postby brian » 02 Nov 2005 18:57

There's --sub-track

So you could try assiocating vlc with the command:

vlc.exe --sub-track 0 "%1"

(Or maybe vlc.exe --sub-track 1 "%1" instead)

i.e. Open a folder in windows, click View->Folder Options...
Click the File Types tab, find Ogm or MVK and click Edit...
Click actions "open" and click Edit...

Then modify the command to include "--sub-track 0" (or 1)

blib

Ah Ha!

Postby blib » 02 Nov 2005 20:37

A command line option. See I knew it was something obvious. I assumed that anything from the commandline would be mirrored in the preferences. That makes 654,489 incorrect assumptions I've made in my life.

Thank you very much Brian! I'll try that.

blib

blib

hmmm