Need help with command line
Posted: 23 Jun 2012 04:59
by twalp
I can configure VLC 2 for streaming in Windows 7 but I need to create a command line version for other volunteers who would be baffled by the GUI. In other words, I need to put an icon on the desktop that anyone can run and it'll start VLC in the proper streaming mode.
Capture mode is DirectShow
Video device is none
Audio device is the Stereo Mix of a Xonar sound card
Destination is http 8080, Audio-MP3 1-channel 128kb
The "Generated stream output string" ends up being:
:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
My attempts at creating the command line equivalent continue to fail. Help!?
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 23 Jun 2012 21:04
by VLC_help
It would be something like
Code: Select all
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=FrontMic :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 23 Jun 2012 22:23
by twalp
Thank you! Where does one find the proper value for the dshow-adev= parameter? I figure that every sound card or capture device is unique in this regard. In this case it's a Xonar card with multiple ins and outs, so now the trick is to determine their DirectShow names, right?
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 24 Jun 2012 21:39
by twalp
It would be something like
Code: Select all
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=FrontMic :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
Okay, so I guess I figured out how to determine the device ID (see it in the drop-down list of capture devices or use Messages with Verbosity of 2). Using the drop-down list as a source feels sketchy because one assumes the device name is truncated only in that view, but apparently what you see is all that you need. I end up with the following command line.
Code: Select all
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Stereo Mix (ASUS Xonar D2X Audi :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
It fails, probably because of the spaces in the device name. So I put double-spaces around the device name and tried this command line:
Code: Select all
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (ASUS Xonar D2X Audi" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
I'm amazed that it works, but it does!
Thank you for your guidance.
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 01 Jun 2014 07:25
by degarb
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
No luck. I do not know what double spaces you are talking about. Not in example.
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 01 Jun 2014 08:45
by kodela
He thinks probably not double spaces, he probably thinks quotes.
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 01 Jun 2014 21:12
by degarb
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev= Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
does not work. Does he have other problems in the example. I don't see why the ( isn't closed.
I have been trying this for hours. The documentation is very poor. For Example, they refer to input_stream without defining what an input stream may be. I have not a stream. I want the stereo mix to stream out on http port 8080 to roku via command line launch. Spent hours on this. Even tutorials on gui are weak and missing key information.
Other failed attempts:
my working gui out string:
:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep
example:
vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128}:
standard{access=http,mux=ogg,dst=server.example.org:8080}'
forum example
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=224,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
guess 1:
vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:standard{access=http,{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep'
guess 2:
vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:standard{access=http,{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep'
guess 3
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
guess 4
vlc -vvv dshow:// --sout='#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-keep'
:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-keep
guess 5
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio)" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
vlc -vvv dshow://:-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input --sout "#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep"
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev= Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 01 Jun 2014 23:27
by kodela
Have I understood correctly?
Be started with a simple mouse-click on the PC1 microphone recordings.
The microphone signal is transmitted to PC2 and played there.
8080 is not a destination, it's just a port!
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 01 Jun 2014 23:51
by degarb
Also, my guess is the windows 7 and xp command lines are different. I have no idea how you come up with these command lines based on the vlc documentation. Like two separate conventions.
The jbdub82 xp command line is first to work after much effort. the ahk convention would be. The vlc streamer constantly taxes the cpu at %2 on silence. Needs fix.
Run, c:Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe -I qt --ttl 12 dshow:// :dshow-vdev="none" :dshow-adev="Realtek HD Audio Input" :dshow-caching=200 :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none`,acodec=mp3`,ab=512`,channels=2`,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw`,dst=:8080/mp3} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :ttl=1 :sout-keep, c:Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC, Hide,VlCpid
Sleep, 2000
Process, Priority, VLCpid, B
winhide, dshow:// - VLC media player
I am assuming this command line doesn't time out, as it looks like it might. Also, it fails to show the streaming output that screams success over failed attempts..
Re: Need help with command line
Posted: 02 Jun 2014 00:41
by kodela