Need help with command line

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
twalp
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 04:45

Need help with command line

Postby twalp » 23 Jun 2012 04:59

I can configure VLC 2 for streaming in Windows 7 but I need to create a command line version for other volunteers who would be baffled by the GUI. In other words, I need to put an icon on the desktop that anyone can run and it'll start VLC in the proper streaming mode.

Capture mode is DirectShow
Video device is none
Audio device is the Stereo Mix of a Xonar sound card

Destination is http 8080, Audio-MP3 1-channel 128kb

The "Generated stream output string" ends up being:
:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep

My attempts at creating the command line equivalent continue to fail. Help!?

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: Need help with command line

Postby VLC_help » 23 Jun 2012 21:04

It would be something like

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=FrontMic :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep

twalp
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 04:45

Re: Need help with command line

Postby twalp » 23 Jun 2012 22:23

Thank you! Where does one find the proper value for the dshow-adev= parameter? I figure that every sound card or capture device is unique in this regard. In this case it's a Xonar card with multiple ins and outs, so now the trick is to determine their DirectShow names, right?

twalp
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 Jun 2012 04:45

Re: Need help with command line

Postby twalp » 24 Jun 2012 21:39

It would be something like

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=FrontMic :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
Okay, so I guess I figured out how to determine the device ID (see it in the drop-down list of capture devices or use Messages with Verbosity of 2). Using the drop-down list as a source feels sketchy because one assumes the device name is truncated only in that view, but apparently what you see is all that you need. I end up with the following command line.

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev=Stereo Mix (ASUS Xonar D2X Audi :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
It fails, probably because of the spaces in the device name. So I put double-spaces around the device name and tried this command line:

Code: Select all

vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (ASUS Xonar D2X Audi" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
I'm amazed that it works, but it does!

Thank you for your guidance.

degarb
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Jul 2009 05:12

Re: Need help with command line

Postby degarb » 01 Jun 2014 07:25

vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep


No luck. I do not know what double spaces you are talking about. Not in example.

kodela
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 632
Joined: 25 Sep 2012 19:40
VLC version: 2.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Germany

Re: Need help with command line

Postby kodela » 01 Jun 2014 08:45

He thinks probably not double spaces, he probably thinks quotes.

degarb
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Jul 2009 05:12

Re: Need help with command line

Postby degarb » 01 Jun 2014 21:12

vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev= Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep

does not work. Does he have other problems in the example. I don't see why the ( isn't closed.

I have been trying this for hours. The documentation is very poor. For Example, they refer to input_stream without defining what an input stream may be. I have not a stream. I want the stereo mix to stream out on http port 8080 to roku via command line launch. Spent hours on this. Even tutorials on gui are weak and missing key information.

Other failed attempts:

my working gui out string:

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep


example:

vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128}:
standard{access=http,mux=ogg,dst=server.example.org:8080}'

forum example
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=224,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep



guess 1:
vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:standard{access=http,{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep'

guess 2:
vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:standard{access=http,{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-all :sout-keep'

guess 3
vlc dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep


guess 4

vlc -vvv dshow:// --sout='#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-keep'

:sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=2,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/mp3} :sout-keep

guess 5
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep
vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev="Stereo Mix (Realtek High Definition Audio)" --sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep

vlc -vvv dshow://:-adev=Realtek HD Audio Input --sout "#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep"

vlc -vvv dshow:// :dshow-vdev= :dshow-adev= Stereo Mix (Realtek HD Audio Input :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none,acodec=mp3,ab=128,channels=1,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw,dst=:8080/} :sout-keep

kodela
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 632
Joined: 25 Sep 2012 19:40
VLC version: 2.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Germany

Re: Need help with command line

Postby kodela » 01 Jun 2014 23:27

Have I understood correctly?

Be started with a simple mouse-click on the PC1 microphone recordings.

The microphone signal is transmitted to PC2 and played there.

8080 is not a destination, it's just a port!

degarb
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 28
Joined: 26 Jul 2009 05:12

Re: Need help with command line

Postby degarb » 01 Jun 2014 23:51

Also, my guess is the windows 7 and xp command lines are different. I have no idea how you come up with these command lines based on the vlc documentation. Like two separate conventions.

The jbdub82 xp command line is first to work after much effort. the ahk convention would be. The vlc streamer constantly taxes the cpu at %2 on silence. Needs fix.

Run, c:Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe -I qt --ttl 12 dshow:// :dshow-vdev="none" :dshow-adev="Realtek HD Audio Input" :dshow-caching=200 :sout=#transcode{vcodec=none`,acodec=mp3`,ab=512`,channels=2`,samplerate=44100}:http{mux=raw`,dst=:8080/mp3} :no-sout-rtp-sap :no-sout-standard-sap :ttl=1 :sout-keep, c:Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC, Hide,VlCpid
Sleep, 2000
Process, Priority, VLCpid, B
winhide, dshow:// - VLC media player



I am assuming this command line doesn't time out, as it looks like it might. Also, it fails to show the streaming output that screams success over failed attempts..

kodela
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 632
Joined: 25 Sep 2012 19:40
VLC version: 2.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10
Location: Germany

Re: Need help with command line

Postby kodela » 02 Jun 2014 00:41

See here.


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests