How can I make new versions portable like v0.8?

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
lwc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 42
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 15:08

How can I make new versions portable like v0.8?

Postby lwc » 23 Sep 2008 02:43

In 0.8, this config file was enough to make VLC portable:

Code: Select all

[main] plugins-cache=0
In 0.9, I've tried using this:

Code: Select all

[main] plugins-cache=0 [qt4] qt-updates-notif=0 qt-privacy-ask=0
But in v0.9 I still get these 2 files:

Code: Select all

%APPDATA%\vlc\ml.xspf %APPDATA%\vlc\vlc-qt-interface.ini
In v1.1.0 I also get font cache:

Code: Select all

%APPDATA%\vlc\randomID-i686.cache-2
My question is - are there any config options that will make these files go away a-la "plugins-cache=0" and thus make v0.9 portable like v0.8 was?

Thanks!
Last edited by lwc on 23 Jun 2010 11:58, edited 2 times in total.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Sep 2008 03:13

No. At least, not now.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby VLC_help » 23 Sep 2008 14:42


Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Sep 2008 19:04

Why is it a defect ?
We don't have to make VLC stealth.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby VLC_help » 24 Sep 2008 14:12

IMHO it is defect because 0.8 series has this and there isn't any documentation about change in 0.9 that would break it.

So when something that has worked earlier is broken, it is a defect.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 25 Sep 2008 00:36

IMHO it is defect because 0.8 series has this and there isn't any documentation about change in 0.9 that would break it.

So when something that has worked earlier is broken, it is a defect.
I disagree. This behaviour was not documented, so not really wanted. Moreover, those file are not really important, since they just go to %appdata%/vlc and are not necessary for VLC to work.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

Mercury048
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 85
Joined: 20 Jan 2008 02:15

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Mercury048 » 25 Sep 2008 01:29

Although I don't use this feature I agree it would be useful.

And would it not be very easy to code? Check for existence of config files in the VLC executable's directory, use if they exist, otherwise check/write to %APPDATA%\vlc. This would also be beneficial for certain deployment scenarios.

Whether it's a bug, I'm not sure, but it's a very good feature request.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 25 Sep 2008 02:10

Sorry, but vlcrc was always created in version 0.8. I don't see why it is less portable now, or I am missing something.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby VLC_help » 25 Sep 2008 15:35

With 0.8.6 people could use --no-plugins-cache --config=vlcrc to keep vlcrc in same directory as vlc.exe and keep everything unchanged in %appdata%

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make v0.9 portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 25 Sep 2008 18:51

With 0.8.6 people could use --no-plugins-cache --config=vlcrc to keep vlcrc in same directory as vlc.exe and keep everything unchanged in %appdata%
I could try to save the Qt Config in a designated file.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

CritterNYC
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2006 16:46
Location: Astoria, NY
Contact:

VLC Media Player Portable 0.9.4 from PortableApps.com

Postby CritterNYC » 09 Oct 2008 19:36

You can grab VLC Media Player Portable 0.9.4 from PortableApps.com and it'll move those two additional files back and forth for you as well as automatically update the media library as you move PCs and the drive letter changes.

lwc
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 42
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 15:08

Re: How can I make new versions portable like v0.8?

Postby lwc » 23 Jun 2010 11:57

trac ticket created.
Can someone please update the ticket? V1.1.0 has also added font cache:

Code: Select all

%APPDATA%\vlc\randomID-i686.cache-2
Unless of course there's a parameter that stops it?
Last edited by lwc on 24 Jun 2010 07:18, edited 3 times in total.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: How can I make new versions portable like v0.8?

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Jun 2010 13:40

There isn't. We need it.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: How can I make new versions portable like v0.8?

Postby VLC_help » 24 Jun 2010 20:03

Ticket updated.


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests