Creating an SDP file

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Creating an SDP file

Postby SigmaGTX » 01 Apr 2007 04:27

How do you create an SDP file using the Windows GUI. I just need to save the SDP file and FTP it to my server and I'm all set.

Thanks!

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 01 Apr 2007 22:26

Does anyone actually use SDP files with VLC?

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 13 Apr 2007 17:21

Ok here is what I've done, can anyone tell me where I've gone wrong.

First thing I do is open VLC and go to File->Open Capture Device (trying to stream a web cam)

Next I select my Web cam, I'm putting Audio to none because I don't want to deal with that right now.

Next click on the check box that says Stream/Save and then click Settings

I have an RTP server so I check off that box, then put in the IP address and the port number.

I check off Video Codec and select h264 (I tried MP4 but I got an error saying "Cannot open encoder"

Then I hit OK then OK again to start my feed.

I know my web cam is on since the blue light is on and if I look in the
View-> Stream and Media info I can see the "sent Packets" going up.

I've created an SDP file based off different things I've found.

Code: Select all

v=0 o=- 1849156998 1849156998 IN IP4 [~~My IP Address~~] s=TEST t=0 0 c=IN IP4 [~~Server IP Address~~] m=audio 5440 RTP/AVP 96 a=rtpmap:96 mpeg4-generic/32000/2 a=fmtp:96 profile-level-id=15;mode=AAC-hbr;sizelength=13;indexlength=3;indexdeltalength=3;config=1290 m=video 5442 RTP/AVP 97 a=rtpmap:97 MP4V-ES/90000 a=fmtp:97 profile-level-id=3;config=000001b0f3000001b50ee0c0c0cf000001000000012000845d4c307d314043c1443f;


This file I've saved to the server. When I try to access this through quicktime I keep getting "Switching Transports" before it times out.

I've done the same thing with Wirecast and it works fine. (Wirecast has a trial)

I've tried looking in the messages for SDP file information but I don't see what i'm looking for.

If anyone could help or offere suggestions that would be awesome. Thanks in advance.

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 16 Apr 2007 21:44

Bump because someone out there must know what they are doing.

guyabou
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 03:25

I have the same problem

Postby guyabou » 16 Apr 2007 22:56

Actually, I tried the same but i didnt build the SDP file on my own but let the VLC create it. You do that by creating a batch file contains "call vlc...."

here's the command I used to create the SDP file:

Code: Select all

call "c:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -vvv --reset-config --no-audio dshow:// :dshow-vdev="AXIS MJPEG Capture Driver" :dshow-adev="" :dshow-size="" --sout-rtp-dst=" 192.168.2.101" --sout-rtp-ttl="127" --sout-rtp-sdp="rtsp://192.168.2.150/test.sdp" --sout "#transcode:rtp" --sout-transcode-fps=15 --sout-transcode-venc="ffmpeg" --sout-transcode-vcodec="mp4v" --sout-transcode-vb="8000"
well it's not working when im pointing it to another computer (the 192.168.2.150) but when I do that locally it creates the SDP and working great.

and another thing is that it also worked for me when I use the wirecast.

Guys, I really need your help here...
Guy

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 18 Apr 2007 18:05

Hey Guy I tried using your script to create an SDP file, but nothing was created. VLC turned on and the web cam started displaying but I can't find the SDP file.

Should the file appear at the location you specified. (In your case sdp="file://D:/movie/vlc2.sdp", refering to your other post.)

I do know that once you have your SDP file you need to FTP it to the server, but I'm having trouble getting the file created.

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 18 Apr 2007 19:00

Ok, I was actually able to get the sdp file to be created automatically.

Still having issues:

1. When I run the bat file my internet dies. I can't access web pages.
2. My Camera never shows up in the list until I hit Refersh, so it says I can't open the device. (not a huge problem. I just stop it and start it again with the GUI)

Also the problem you might be having is your location IP in your sdp file.

By default this bat file sets the location IP to 127.0.0.1 which is home. If that sdp file is on a server it will be looking for the web cam on the server. Change that line and it should work remotely.

I've also tried setting up the stream manually and using the previously generated sdp file, but still no luck.

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 22 Apr 2007 00:15

Bump. I need to get some answers. Can anyone direct me to a good tutorial?!

guyabou
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 03:25

I'll soon have it

Postby guyabou » 24 Apr 2007 22:09

soon enoght...
Last edited by guyabou on 25 Apr 2007 01:12, edited 1 time in total.
Guy

guyabou
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 03:25

try this one:

Postby guyabou » 25 Apr 2007 01:11

Code: Select all

vlc.exe rtsp://192.168.2.136/live.amp -vvv --reset-config --no-audio --sout-rtp- dst="192.168.2.100" --sout-rtp-ttl="127" --sout-rtp-sdp="file://c:/vlc2.sdp" --sout "#transcode:rtp" --sout-transcode-fps=15 --sout-transcode-venc="ffmpeg" --sout-transcode- vcodec="mp4v" --sout-transcode-vb="8000"
Guy

SigmaGTX
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 16 Mar 2007 03:45

Postby SigmaGTX » 28 Apr 2007 23:15

I'm not sure what the last post was suposed to do. I tried to impliment it but I just got errors. Could you clarify please! :)

guyabou
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 06 Apr 2007 03:25

Postby guyabou » 05 May 2007 10:25

it had just created the sdp the way I needed.

anyway, I left the VLC for now and I'm using wirecast.
Guy


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests