Page 1 of 1

development of new codec...

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 02:46
by calab
I'm going to develope the new codec....
Where can I insert the new codec in vlc source.
What do I do?

Posted: 07 Nov 2006 08:07
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/browser/tr ... ules/codec ?

I don't know if it is exactly what you are looking for, but that could be what you want.

Posted: 12 Nov 2006 21:56
by RĂ©mi Denis-Courmont
It depends on the kind of codec.

Generally, you have to create a new plugin in modules/codec/, add a line to modules/codec/Modules.am so the build system knows about it, and then modify configure.ac so that your plugin is enabled whenever relevant:

Code: Select all

VLC_ADD_PLUGIN([myplugin])

adding a codec

Posted: 02 Feb 2007 07:35
by laxmanv
The above said solutions are not correct.
if you want to add your own codec then take help of ffmpeg library and study the whole library then make changes in that library such that you can access your codec.

Re: adding a codec

Posted: 05 Feb 2007 10:36
by AndrK
The above said solutions are not correct.
if you want to add your own codec then take help of ffmpeg library and study the whole library then make changes in that library such that you can access your codec.
No, it is not necessay to extend the ffmpeg library to add a codec. The better solution may be to add a codec directly to VLC. This makes the result much simpler, and your codec will not need another wrapper (that from ffmpeg to VLC). But on the other hand adding a codec to ffmpeg may be less complicated, and other applications using ffmpeg will also have benefit from your codec.