where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

*nix specific usage questions
kiran
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 11:24
Location: INDIA

where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

Postby kiran » 13 Dec 2007 06:47

Hello Forum,

I need to enable aac support in ffmpeg.I am having faac and faad libraries.I dont know at which location these folders have to pasted in ffmpeg.When i pasted them in libavcodedc folder i was getting following eror message:
/usr/local/bin/ld: cannot find -lfaac

So please help me if at all anyone of them have worked on it.
Thanks & Regards
KJ

kmf31
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 308
Joined: 11 Mar 2007 21:47

Re: where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

Postby kmf31 » 13 Dec 2007 08:02

You don't need to copy the faac and faad sources in the ffmpeg tree. You first compile and install faac and faad separately (by default at /usr/local/lib ) and then you provide with ffmpeg the configure options:

./configure .... --enable-libfaac --enable-libfaad ....

and after the ffmpeg compilation/installation ffmpeg will be linked with the faac and faad libaries. With vlc you have similar configure options in order to use faac/faad.

kiran
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 11:24
Location: INDIA

Re: where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

Postby kiran » 13 Dec 2007 10:12

Thanks a lot for ur reply.
I have compiled faac and faad by giving following commands:
./bootstrap,./configure,make,make install.The corresponding libraries were updated in /usr/local/lib.
But when i am compiling ffmpeg after enabling libfaac,libfaad i get the following errors:

libavutil/internal.h:262: sorry, unimplemented: inlining failed in call to 'lrintf': redefined extern inline functions are not considered for inlining
/home/Kiran-x86/Ffmpeg-AAC/ffmpeg/libavutil/common.h:172: sorry, unimplemented: called from here
make[1]: *** [resample2.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Kiran-x86/Ffmpeg-AAC/ffmpeg/libavcodec'
make: *** [lib] Error 2

Please tell me where i might be wrong...

kmf31
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 308
Joined: 11 Mar 2007 21:47

Re: where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

Postby kmf31 » 13 Dec 2007 12:43

Which compiler version do you use ?

May be you need a recent gcc version (gcc-4.1.x or gcc-4.2.x, ...) ?

kiran
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 24 Jan 2007 11:24
Location: INDIA

Re: where to include the faac and faad library folder in ffmpeg

Postby kiran » 14 Dec 2007 05:47

I am using gcc-3.4.3 version compiler.
I did not update the gcc compiler,but i have modified
static always_inline long int lrintf(float x) to static inline long int lrintf(float x) in common.h.
and ffmpeg got built successfully...
Then i configured vlc with following additional options:
./vlc --enable-ffmpeg --with-ffmpeg-tree=../ffmpeg --with-ffmpeg-faac --with-faad-tree=/usr/local/lib/
but when i streamed an aac file through vlc it was not using faac and faad libraries...and i am getting following errors:

main input debug: creating demux: access='' demux='' path='0_audioOut.aac'
[00000229] main demuxer debug: looking for demux2 module: 36 candidates
[00000229] ffmpeg demuxer debug: couldn't guess format[00000218] main input debug: thread 3042806704 (input) created at priority 0 (input/input.c:261)
[00000229] ps demuxer warning: this does not look like an MPEG PS stream, continuing anyway
[00000229] main demuxer debug: using demux2 module "ps"
[00000218] main input debug: looking for a subtitle file in /home/Kiran-x86/Ffmpeg-AAC/vlc-0.8.5/
[00000218] main input debug: starting in synch mode
[00000218] main input debug: `0_audioOut.aac' successfully opened
[00000229] ps demuxer warning: garbage at input, trying to resync...
[00000229] ps demuxer warning: found sync code
[00000218] main input debug: selecting program id=0
[00000229] ps demuxer warning: garbage at input, trying to resync...
[00000229] ps demuxer warning: found sync code

Please guide me....should i need to configure vlc separately...


Return to “VLC media player for Linux and friends Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests