vlc + sdl +mad +qt with sdl problem

*nix specific usage questions
ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

vlc + sdl +mad +qt with sdl problem

Postby ChrisCCF » 15 Feb 2007 13:19

Dear Everyone,

I currently want to integrate vlc + sdl + mad into my qtopia platform. However, I stuck at a problem. Could anyone give me the clue to sovle the problem? Thanks!

I am using vlc-0.5.2, sdl-1.2.6 and mad-0.14.2b and qtopia-2.1.1. I use them just because they have more documents on the web in my language.

Now I want to run the program on my desktop's qvfb.

And I have compiled them without an error.

But when I execute the program, I get a problem that it can't play video. (It can play audio.)

The msg I get from gdb:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
[Switching to Thread 1142106816 (LWP 25264)]
0x4012351e in QPEApplicationData::show(QWidget*, bool) ()
from $QPEDIR/lib/libqpe.so.1

It seems the sdl can't work with qt.

Here is the configuration of sdl and vlc.

sdl:
./configure --prefix=$BLDDIR --disable-esd-shared --disable-arts-shared --disable-arts --disable-nas --disable-diskaudio --disable-mintaudio --disable-video-ps2gs --disable-atari-ldg --disable-joystick --disable-video-dummy --disable-alsa --disable-cdrom --disable-video-x11 --disable-nasm --disable-video-photon --enable-video-qtopia

vlc:
./configure --prefix=$BLDDIR --disable-dvd --disable-dvdread --disable-freetype --disable-dvbpsi --disable-vcd --enable-vorbis --disable-plugins --enable-sout --disable-directx --disable-waveout --disable-macosx --enable-sdl --with-sdl-config-path=$SDLDIR/bin --disable-fb --disable-xvideo --disable-gtk --enable-mad --with-mad-tree=$MADDIR --disable-ffmpeg --disable-dvdplay --disable-ogg --disable-mky --disable-a52 --disable-slp --disable-libmpeg2 --disable-x11 --disable-wxwindows --enable-qt --with-qt-path=$QT2DIR


Can anyone give me a clue? Thanks!!!

Chris

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 15 Feb 2007 13:58

Well, VLC 0.5.2 is a very old release. So I bet very few people will help you on that.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 21 Feb 2007 14:05

yeah... you are right...

But it seems newer vlc needed new qtopia (qtopia 4.).

As my system only run qtopia 2. It may be the only way...

Then can you suggest me something, j-b?

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 21 Feb 2007 16:15

I don't know if newer VLC needs Qtopia 4.

There is a new interface based on qt4, but, I don't really know how this is linked.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 09:47

j-b thanks for reply me anyway.

I am really question about whether VLC support qte.

When I config it as --enable-qte, it ends up "Cannot find QT Embedded development headers".

But if I config it as --enable-qt, it doesn't reply an error. And this is the method I config the partial workable version of vlc + qtopia in qvfb.

However, this enable-qt method need -lqt at the end. But I really wonder this can be done by cross-compilation since qt/x11 doesn't support cross-compilation...

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Feb 2007 10:12

Well, euh.. Qte was present in very old version of VLC... Is broken and not really useful.
There used to be a Qt interface also.

And now Qt is under development for a new intf using qt4.

For your QTE error, qre you sure you installed all the QTe headers ?

What is your project and what can we do for you ?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 12:45

I express my deep thankful for your concern to my problem!

My project I need to do media streaming for an embedded iPAQ-like system.

User can enjoy a VOD service via my embedded system.

I am appreciate the power of streaming that VLC offered and know that I can realize the VOD GUI interface by the API of libvlc. So I choose to use VLC.

My hardware is proven to work under qtopia and I learnt for months of how a QT-programming works. So I would like to integrate VLC into qtopia.

And it seems it worked in qvfb which is a testing framebuffer offered by Trolltech. This can test whether the program can work before porting it. So it doesn't involce any cross-compilation. And at this stage VLC can be implement w/o compilation error.

As the compilation is done via the use of enable-qt. It seems libqt.so is indispensable to the compilation. Here comes the problem when I do cross compilation today. libqt.so can't be otained by cross compiled to arm system. So.... I have no solution.




Actually, I can change any GUI system which is proven worked with VLC. But it would be good to compatible with QT programming so that I still can catch up the project deadline. May OPIE be a solution?

So any suggestion? I would please to refer a successful installation document as I am new to this area.

Thanks again!

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 12:54

By the way, I am refering to a successful case in this link. (I don't know whether people can read chiese or not...)

It has used qtopia-1.7.0 + vlc-0.5.2

But this document is rather incompete to talk about the changes that it had made.

Well... I think if this feature is reallized. Most people would appreciate it as lots of Asia region enjoy Media. As a lots of 'hot point' is established, VOD media streaming would have a great market potential. I don't know whether VLC support other favour embedded linux environment. I really think it is good to keep qte supported by VLC.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 12:56

Sorry for forgotten to post the reference link mentioned above.

(http://211.79.59.247/Course/video200510 ... dedVOD.ppt)

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Feb 2007 13:49

As the compilation is done via the use of enable-qt. It seems libqt.so is indispensable to the compilation. Here comes the problem when I do cross compilation today. libqt.so can't be otained by cross compiled to arm system. So.... I have no solution.
Really? pff
Actually, I can change any GUI system which is proven worked with VLC. But it would be good to compatible with QT programming so that I still can catch up the project deadline. May OPIE be a solution?

So any suggestion? I would please to refer a successful installation document as I am new to this area.
I don't have a lot of experiences in Qtopia nor in OPIE. But I am rewritting VLC GUI in QT.
However VLC Qt GUi must be too big for Handheld devices...

So I don't really know.
Make a new GUI ? Update QTE ?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 13:59

As the compilation is done via the use of enable-qt. It seems libqt.so is indispensable to the compilation. Here comes the problem when I do cross compilation today. libqt.so can't be otained by cross compiled to arm system. So.... I have no solution.
Really? pff

I really did this. I just follow a doc found in internet as post. I really use enable-qt and let it be configured first. And then modify the Makefile to include -lqte and -lqpe in LDFLAGS_qt. Then it works under qvfb. If I could I can post a screen capture with qvfb here.

Well... Size maybe not be a problem as I have extension memory.

But I have seen many post asking about why --enable-qte is not work. I really think what I need is --enable-qte but not --enable-qt instead.
So do you have solution? :roll:

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Feb 2007 14:40

Recode it ?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 15:26

You mean me to recode the vlc to let it support qte?

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Feb 2007 15:31

VLC is a very modular app, that can have more and less modules/
VLC is not GUI dependent at all. You can run a VLC with just a CLI.
So, you can take old QtE code for VLC and you just have to build the missing module.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 23 Feb 2007 15:57

I know VLC must be independent of GUI and that's one of the reasons why I choose it.

So can you advise me where and how to start with building the missing module.

What doc to view or what part of program I should go through first?

Thanks!

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 23 Feb 2007 21:20

Well, come on IRC to discuss of that. But I would advice that you give a look on /modules/gui/qt4 in SVN TRUNK
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

ChrisCCF
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Jan 2007 05:49

Postby ChrisCCF » 25 Feb 2007 08:41

Sorry that I don't know what is IRC... Could you tell me? thanks

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37519
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 25 Feb 2007 11:42

IRC is Internet Relay Chat.
Look at the Xchat client and join irc.videolan.org channel videolan
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.


Return to “VLC media player for Linux and friends Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests