Help for a newbie re screenshots.

macOS specific usage questions
fruitbat00
New Cone
New Cone

Help for a newbie re screenshots.

Postby fruitbat00 » 21 Oct 2011 15:03

Hi there I hope I am doing this right. I have had a quick troll through the forum but I couldnt see the answer to this. Please forgive me if I have missed a topic dealing with this. I wish to make screenshots from a video. I.E. set it up to automatically take a set of screen caps from the video. Not just single shots. I have searched the web and there are loads of info on how to do this in VLC for windows. But none on how to do it for the Mac version. Is there an option for this on the Mac version that I cannot find?

I am new to the player and Mac so if this is a stupid question or it has been answered on here already please excuse me. I have the latest version of the player and Mac OS X 10.6.8. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

crackstone
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
VLC version: 2.1.0-git
Operating System: Mac OS X

Re: Help for a newbie re screenshots.

Postby crackstone » 21 Oct 2011 15:53

I wish to make screenshots from a video. I.E. set it up to automatically take a set of screen caps from the video. Not just single shots.
if i understand this correctly you want to continuously take snapshots of a video? and not do it manually? is that what you mean?
anyways, try running the following command from within terminal. it produces a series of snapshots from the video. in this case every 120th frame.

Code: Select all

/Applications/VLC.app/Contents/MacOS/VLC -I dummy --video-filter=scene --vout=dummy --no-audio --scene-format=png --scene-ratio=120 --scene-prefix=videoSnap --scene-path=/Users/username /Users/username/Movies/theNameOfYourVideo.mp4 vlc://quit &>/dev/null & echo $!
replace paths and input with your source (movie, stream, whatever it may be)
adjust --scene-ratio to your need (in this case it takes snapshots every 120th frame)