Brief audio drop every 90 seconds

macOS specific usage questions
CCB
New Cone
New Cone

Brief audio drop every 90 seconds

Postby CCB » 06 Apr 2012 17:24

When playing a ripped Blu-ray movie file in .mkv format, the audio drops out for a second or less every 90 or so seconds. I'm using a new MacMini and running the latest version of Lion. The video is perfect - the only problem is the "clipped" audio at regular intervals.

I'm just a beginner with VLC so my problem may be very simple. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your patience.

CCB

fkuehne
Developer
Developer
VLC version: 0.4.6 - present
Operating System: Darwin

Re: Brief audio drop every 90 seconds

Postby fkuehne » 06 Apr 2012 17:37

Do you use the optical or the analog audio output?
VideoLAN
Felix Paul Kühne
Medic. VLC developer for appleOS since before you were born.
Blog: https://www.feepk.net

CCB
New Cone
New Cone

Postby CCB » 06 Apr 2012 18:26

I'm using HDMI from MacMini to TV.

CCB

fkuehne
Developer
Developer

Postby fkuehne » 06 Apr 2012 18:41

Sorry, that's the only use-case I can't reproduce due to the lack of both a TV and a Mac mini.

Do you use a DTS or DolbyDigital / A52 audio track within your files? (check the information panel, in case you're unsure) Does it work okay, if you play a mp3 or a m4a file?
VideoLAN
Felix Paul Kühne

CCB
New Cone
New Cone

Postby CCB » 07 Apr 2012 23:01

I was able to solve my audio drop problem by unstalling the latest version of VideoLan and reinstalling the prior version. Everything works fine using the prior version. There must be some audio bug in the current version.

CCB

fkuehne
Developer
Developer

Postby fkuehne » 08 Apr 2012 15:12

I figured that. However, your response doesn't help us to isolate the issue... :(

Note that previous releases contain known security issues.
VideoLAN
Felix Paul Kühne

Metin Kul
New Cone
New Cone

Postby Metin Kul » 28 Apr 2012 16:18

Hello, I just registered just to help solve this problem ;)