Page 1 of 1

VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 10 Aug 2009 18:16
by Martie
Hello!

Could anyone post a basic example of streaming multiple videos as a single stream? I tried this but with no luck:


% vlc --sout-keep --sout "#gather" --ttl 12 -vvv --color -I telnet --rtsp-host 0.0.0.0:5554 --vlm-conf vlm.conf

vlm.conf :
new test vod enabled
setup test input /home/ab/1.mp4
setup test input /home/ab/2.mp4
setup test input /home/ab/3.mp4


When I open the "test" stream, only the first file is played. The next two files seem to be ignored.
Any help would appreaciated. Thanks in advance!

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 08 Sep 2009 11:57
by Martie
This funcionality seems to be disabled in VLC since version 0.9. I managed to get it work by a small modification in the code, in the file: src/input/vlm.c:

In function Manage(), line 345, I replaced:

Code: Select all

/* FIXME implement multiple input with VOD */ if( p_media->cfg.b_vod || i_new_input_index >= p_media->cfg.i_input ) vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_STOP_MEDIA_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name ); else vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_BROADCAST_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index );
with:

Code: Select all

if( i_new_input_index >= p_media->cfg.i_input ) vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_STOP_MEDIA_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name ); else if ( p_media->cfg.b_vod ) /* VoD */ vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_VOD_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index, "dummy_string"); else /* Broadcast */ vlm_ControlInternal( vlm, VLM_START_MEDIA_BROADCAST_INSTANCE, p_media->cfg.id, p_instance->psz_name, i_new_input_index );

It works fine for me, the only condition is that the first file of the stream must be playable, otherwise the stream won't play. I use VLC 1.0.1.

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 08 Sep 2009 18:04
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Can you send the patch to vlc-devel?

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 08 Sep 2009 21:39
by Martie
As you wished, I just sent the patch to vlc-devel@videolan.org

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 01 Oct 2009 14:22
by Sébastien Escudier
Hi,

I think RTSP and multiple inputs is undefined, and doesn't make sense.
So, adding a new input for a VOD item should replace the old one.
Unless you can explain why and how it should work ? what about seeking ? and "next" command doesn't exists.
Reading RTSP RFC, multiple streams per url is only defined as aggregates streams.

Why don't you use multiple VOD items for the server, and playlists for the client ?

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 08 Jul 2010 11:24
by coolnumber9
Can you send the patch to vlc-devel?
Hi j-b,

Has this modification/patch been included in VLC's version 1.0.2 Goldeneye or the latest v1.1.0?

I tried setting up multiple inputs in one VOD object in my Goldeneye and only the first input was streamed.

Thanks!

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 08 Jul 2010 21:02
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
1.1.0 more likely

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 12 Jul 2010 06:18
by coolnumber9
Thanks for the quick response, j-b.

I have a problem with the latest version. Even single input in a single stream did not work for me. I have posted my steps here: http://goo.gl/kTbz.

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 30 Jan 2017 18:32
by quickpass
I am having exact problem as the original post with VLC version 2.2.2. Does anyone know if this ever gets fixed? Thanks.

Re: VOD - multiple inputs in a single stream

Posted: 11 Jun 2017 15:35
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Please share logs, once again.