Page 1 of 1

Multiplex multiple channels?

Posted: 26 Sep 2008 12:22
by fpgamaster
Hello All,

This is part of my vlm.cfg file:
...
new ch1 broadcast enabled
setup ch1 input "file1"
setup ch1 output #duplicate{dst=bridge-out{id=1},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=2},select=audio}

new ch2 broadcast enabled
setup ch2 input "file2"
setup ch2 output #bridge-in:std{access=udp{ttl=1},mux=ts,dst=127.0.0.1:5000}
...

With this I successfuly multimplex two channels with vlc 0.8.6i. The problem is when stopping ch2 then ch1 disappears from the output too.
I think this is expected since ch2's output is multiplexed with bridge-in interface.
Is there a way to workaround this problem?
I have made several attempts to use fake: input and fake-file without success.

Best Regards

Re: Multiplex multiple channels?

Posted: 26 Sep 2008 16:35
by Skinnersplace
Hi I have been looking at this aswell,

Can you post the rest of your config file as I was unable to get your sample to work.

When I tested it, I found that the two video files were transmitted in a single program, but not muxed into a single transport stream (I was not able to selected them form the navigation menu).

As for the way your script works, stopping channel 2 will stop both feeds to the udp port (as channel 2 is the only output)
Channel 1 is still playing and being bridged out, but there is nothing to monitor it on.

I have found the HTTP interface is usefull for seeing what is going on.

Re: Multiplex multiple channels?

Posted: 26 Sep 2008 16:59
by fpgamaster
HI,
Thanks for the reply!
As for the way your script works, stopping channel 2 will stop both feeds to the udp port (as channel 2 is the only output)
Channel 1 is still playing and being bridged out, but there is nothing to monitor it on.
That is the problem I am asking for.

My cfg:

del all

new ch1 broadcast enabled
setup ch1 input "file1"
setup ch1 output #duplicate{dst=bridge-out{id=201},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=101},select=audio}

new ch2 broadcast enabled
setup ch2 input "file2"
setup ch2 output #bridge-in:std{access=udp{ttl=1},mux=ts,dst=127.0.0.1:5000}
setup ch2 option sout-ts-pid-audio=102
setup ch2 option sout-ts-pid-video=202
setup ch2 option sout-ts-tsid=1
setup ch2 option sout-ts-netid=2
setup ch2 option sout-ts-program-pmt="100,200"
setup ch2 option sout-ts-muxpmt="201,101,,202,102"
setup ch2 option sout-ts-sdtdesc="ch1,file1,ch2,file2"
setup ch2 option sout-ts-es-id-pid

Re: Multiplex multiple channels?

Posted: 29 Sep 2008 17:36
by fpgamaster
Just another two problems:

1. Setting "sout-ts-es-id-pid" cause video on PID 0x0 and audio on PID 0x1.
2. Only one PCR is issued in output TS (only one video stream contains PCR in it).

The first problem can be solved by removing sout-ts-es-id-pid option but you can not fix PIDs needed to generate right PMTs!
This is the reason to see strange things in the navigation menu.
The second problem is because of the mux architecture.

Best Regards

Re: Multiplex multiple channels?

Posted: 30 Sep 2008 12:55
by Skinnersplace
Hi fpgaster,
I have got this working now, check out my VLM to mux two channels thread.