Page 1 of 1

VOD +transcode towards mobile.

Posted: 15 Dec 2006 11:14
by aax35
Hello,
I have tried VLC VOD streaming from PC successfully.
Now I would like to do VLC VOD streaming from mobile (for example Nokia N70 or N90) and I encounter a transcode problem.
I have tried the folliwing setup:
new montavi vod enabled setup montavi input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'


Please is it possible to combine VOD + transcode? Should be according doc "How To Stream".
Thanks for help,
AAX35.

are you putting that command on one line?

Posted: 19 Dec 2006 22:34
by dirtyd
If you are putting that command in as one line you should probably remove the word combination "setup montavi" from the command.

Like so:

Code: Select all

new montavi vod enabled input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'
Otherwise put the command in as three lines. Like so:

Code: Select all

new montavi vod enabled setup montavi input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" setup montavi output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'
BTW That transcode line didn't work for me but I'm still testing it. You might want to get it working sans the output(transcode) attribute. Then deal with the streaming transcode parameters as a separate problem after you get the stream of the original content working on demand.

[Re] VOD +transcode towards mobile

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 15:17
by aax35
Hi,
Thanks for answers.
I have tried VOD with the input file test.avi and without transcode, and it works fine.
If I had the "output transcode", the VOD works too but unfortunately the transcoding is not taken into account and the stream can't be seen on mobile.
aax35.

Re: [Re] VOD +transcode towards mobile

Posted: 27 Dec 2006 22:22
by dirtyd
Hi,
Thanks for answers.
I have tried VOD with the input file test.avi and without transcode, and it works fine.
If I had the "output transcode", the VOD works too but unfortunately the transcoding is not taken into account and the stream can't be seen on mobile.
aax35.
First the output attribute shouldn't have quotes around it. It should start #transcode{...}

Second you should check out this thread because VOD doesn't work for http/mms. I'm guessing you aren't using rtsp:// URLs on your mobile.

http://www.videolan.org/doc/play-howto/ ... l#id293635

I suggest a way to setup VOD for http/mms access at the bottom of the thread. I haven't tested it or worked it all out. If you do I wouldn't mind seeing how you set it up.