Page 1 of 1

Can't capture stream via VLM config

Posted: 06 Apr 2016 23:58
by zamar49
I'm trying to capture stream from 720P H264 RTSP IP cam and transcode & re-stream it as MJPEG. When I enter the following commands in VLC GUI, everything works, and I can capture VLC MJPEG stream in a surveillance package that doesn't support H264 capture:

Input: rtsp://192.168.1.117:554/user=admin_password=zamar_channel=1_stream=0.sdp?real_stream
Output: :sout=#transcode{vcodec=mjpg,vb=2500,scale=auto,width=640,fps=10,acodec=none}:standard{access=http{mime="multipart/x-mixed-replace; boundary=7b3cc56e5f51db803f790dad720ed50a"},mux=mpjpeg,dst=:8089/videostream.cgi}

However, when launching VLC via Telnet from the above package with command "C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -I telnet --vlm-conf vlm_conf.txt,
or entering the same data in VLC Menu "Tools - VLM Configuration", I can't capture the MJPEG stream from VLC into the same package, the camera window displays "Please wait..." message indefinitely. I tried this in VLC 2.1.5, 2.2.2, and 3.0.0 - the outcome is the same. I tried to set a path to vlm_conf.txt in VLC Settings and restart, the same outcome.

Please suggest how to make VLC work with its own VLM file correctly? Basically, it captures the source, but doesn't output any stream when using VLM. The surveillance package log says "HTTP/1.0 404 Client error Content-Length: 318 Content-Type: text/html".

The following is content of the vlm_conf.txt, when saved to disk, and then VLC called from surveillance package or Windows Cmd with command: "C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe" -I telnet --vlm-conf vlm_conf.txt :

Code: Select all

new camera1 broadcast loop enabled # setup camera1 enabled setup camera1 input rtsp://192.168.1.117:554/user=admin_password=zamar_channel=1_stream=0.sdp?real_stream setup camera1 output #transcode{vcodec=mjpg,vb=2500,scale=auto,width=640,fps=10,acodec=none}:standard{access=http{mime="multipart/x-mixed-replace; boundary=7b3cc56e5f51db803f790dad720ed50a"},mux=mpjpeg,dst=:8086/videostream.cgi} control camera1 play
VLC log content depends on the package version. For last 2.2.2 its given below, for other versions its similar in content, no errors in the log:

Code: Select all

[005e840c] logger interface: VLC media player - 2.2.2 Weatherwax [005e840c] logger interface: Copyright © 1996-2016 the VideoLAN team [005e840c] logger interface: Warning: if you cannot access the GUI anymore, open a command-line window, go to the directory where you installed VLC and run "vlc -I qt" [005e840c] logger interface: using logger. [005e840c] logger interface warning: no log filename provided, using `vlc-log.txt' [005e840c] logger interface debug: opening logfile `vlc-log.txt' Received 16 new bytes of response data. Received 188 new bytes of response data. Opening connection to 192.168.1.117, port 80... ...remote connection opened Requesting RTSP-over-HTTP tunneling (on port 80) Sending request: GET /user=admin_password=zamar_channel=1_stream=0.sdp?real_stream HTTP/1.1 CSeq: 1 User-Agent: LibVLC/2.2.2 (LIVE555 Streaming Media v2016.01.12) Host: 192.168.1.117 x-sessioncookie: af7839e60bb74e43e8b2f5f Accept: application/x-rtsp-tunnelled Pragma: no-cache Cache-Control: no-cache Received 16 new bytes of response data. Received 188 new bytes of response data.

Re: Can't capture stream via VLM config

Posted: 07 Apr 2016 23:30
by zamar49
Further testing shows that VLC does NOT open any RTSP stream via VLM config file or VLM Configurator. More, it can't import or export a vlm config file from VLM Configurator UI, this UI appears to be just a placeholder, there is hardly any code linked to it. For example, when the above config is entered via Configurator, and then Exported, here is what the exported file contains:

Code: Select all

# VLC media player VLM command batch # http://www.videolan.org/vlc/ new camera1 broadcast enabled loop
Its obvious, the above file doesn't contain any config. When I then attempted to Import it into VLM Configurator, VLC crashed. So I wonder, how many other placeholder functions are present in VLC, and why it is necessary to add fake features to the program GUI?

Re: Can't capture stream via VLM config

Posted: 28 Jun 2016 09:21
by Jean-Baptiste Kempf
You should look at the logs with -vvv