Page 1 of 1

Multiple Transcoding

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 18:40
by msamaan
is it possible to transcode a single stream from a capture card to two or three different encapsulations with different video bandwidth and audio bandwidth.

The command line doesnt seem to like it when i put multiple transcode() calls in. Thanks in advance.

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 19:15
by dionoea
use duplicate :

Code: Select all

#duplicate{dst=transcode{...},dst=transcode{..},...}

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 21:01
by msamaan
Ive tried it before and cant seem to get it to work, this is the code that i tried using

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv dshow://:dshow-vdev="SMRT Capture":dshow-adev="SoundMAX Digital Audio" --sout #duplicate{dst=display{noaudio}, dst="transcode{vcodec=WMV2,acodec=mp3,vb=256,ab=64,deinterlace}:standard{access=http,mux=asf,url=192.168.2.174:1234}",dst=standard{access=http,mux=wav,url=192.168.2.174:1235}, dst="transcode{vcodec=WMV2,acodec=mp3,vb=128,ab=32,deinterlace}:standard{access=http,mux=asf,url=192.168.2.174:1236}",dst=standard{access=http,mux=wav,url=192.168.2.174:1237}}
it displays it for local viewing, but none of the http streams are broadcasting, is it something in the code?

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 21:47
by dionoea
lets take it step by step to see what could be wrong:
what if you try with only one http stream ?

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 22:10
by Guest
sorry to say that it still give me nothing

Posted: 08 Aug 2005 22:16
by dionoea
you're using windows ? try adding '=' just after --sout (--sout=#dup...). Windows needs equal signs for options taking arguments.