Page 1 of 1

VLM telnet direct show webcam error

Posted: 04 Aug 2005 17:46
by msamaan
Im tring to initialize a direct show streaming from a webcam through the telnet vlm interface, but cant get anything but a black output and an unresponsive webcam. however, it works through the wxwindow interface as well as the command line. this is the code im using:

Code: Select all

new st1 broadcast enabled setup st1 input dshow://:dshow-vdev="Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000":dshow-adev="Logitech Microphone (Pro 4000)" setup st1 output #transcode{vcodec=WMV2,acodec=mp3,vb=384,ab=64,deinterlace}:duplicate{dst=display{noaudio},dst=standard{access=http,mux=asf,url=192.168.2.174:1234},dst=standard{access=http,mux=wav,url=192.168.2.174:1235}} control st1 play
any help is appreciated

Re: VLM telnet direct show webcam error

Posted: 04 Aug 2005 18:38
by dionoea
Try this instead :

Code: Select all

new st1 broadcast enabled setup st1 input dshow:// setup st1 option dshow-vdev="Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000" setup st1 option dshow-adev="Logitech Microphone (Pro 4000)" setup st1 output #transcode{vcodec=WMV2,acodec=mp3,vb=384,ab=64,deinterlace}:duplicate{dst=display{noaudio},dst=standard{access=http,mux=asf,url=192.168.2.174:1234},dst=standard{access=http,mux=wav,url=192.168.2.174:1235}} control st1 play
(items begining with : in the command line are input specific options)

Posted: 04 Aug 2005 19:03
by msamaan
still nothing, except now it doesnt even pretend like its playing and give me the blank window. do you have anymore ideas? thanx :?

Posted: 04 Aug 2005 19:04
by dionoea
no, i'm not a directshow pro :( (never used it)

Posted: 06 Aug 2005 01:22
by The DJ
Well i do know that this are way too few dshow settings to get an output.
dshow-size etc is usually required as well.

Just setup the dshow on a desktop trough the normal setup, and copy the settings from the MRL box into VLM

Posted: 15 Dec 2005 10:31
by Guest
I have a similar problem when using Direct-Show as Input.

The only difference is, that my VLC instance (no matter if vlc.exe programm or vlc-nt-service) crashes completely.

The Problem only exists when using VLM. If I open the Direct-Show Input from the GUI, everything works!

I also splited up the options as mentioned in the thread, but it didnt work either, just watch my other thread here in the VLM-forum.

Thanks for your help!

Re: VLM telnet direct show webcam error

Posted: 21 Jan 2008 14:11
by tcrichton
Thanks dionoea, this solved my problem perfectly!

I had however already got the command working through a script before trying it through telnet.

Here's mine (should this help at all... it sends to a Darwin Streaming server)

> new stl broadcast enabled
> setup stl input dshow://
> setup stl option dshow-vdev="Osprey-5X0 Video Device 1"
> setup stl option dshow-adev="Osprey-5X0 Audio Device 1"
> setup stl output #transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128,width=720,height=576,threads=4}:duplicate{dst=rtp{dst=192.168.20.2,port-audio=20000,port-video=20002,ttl=127,sdp=file://Z:/proxy.sdp}}