VOD +transcode towards mobile.

Discussion about configuration and usage of VLM (a stream scheduler) within VLC.
aax35
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Dec 2006 13:16
Location: FRANCE

VOD +transcode towards mobile.

Postby aax35 » 15 Dec 2006 11:14

Hello,
I have tried VLC VOD streaming from PC successfully.
Now I would like to do VLC VOD streaming from mobile (for example Nokia N70 or N90) and I encounter a transcode problem.
I have tried the folliwing setup:
new montavi vod enabled setup montavi input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'


Please is it possible to combine VOD + transcode? Should be according doc "How To Stream".
Thanks for help,
AAX35.

dirtyd
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Dec 2006 23:09
Contact:

are you putting that command on one line?

Postby dirtyd » 19 Dec 2006 22:34

If you are putting that command in as one line you should probably remove the word combination "setup montavi" from the command.

Like so:

Code: Select all

new montavi vod enabled input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'
Otherwise put the command in as three lines. Like so:

Code: Select all

new montavi vod enabled setup montavi input "D:/My Documents/My Videos/test.avi" setup montavi output 'transcode{vcodec=H263,width=128,height=96,vb=28,fps="12.5",acodec=samr,ab="5.25",sa mplerate=8000,channels=1,venc=ffmpeg{keyint=6,strict=1,strict-rc=1}}'
BTW That transcode line didn't work for me but I'm still testing it. You might want to get it working sans the output(transcode) attribute. Then deal with the streaming transcode parameters as a separate problem after you get the stream of the original content working on demand.

aax35
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Dec 2006 13:16
Location: FRANCE

[Re] VOD +transcode towards mobile

Postby aax35 » 22 Dec 2006 15:17

Hi,
Thanks for answers.
I have tried VOD with the input file test.avi and without transcode, and it works fine.
If I had the "output transcode", the VOD works too but unfortunately the transcoding is not taken into account and the stream can't be seen on mobile.
aax35.

dirtyd
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 Dec 2006 23:09
Contact:

Re: [Re] VOD +transcode towards mobile

Postby dirtyd » 27 Dec 2006 22:22

Hi,
Thanks for answers.
I have tried VOD with the input file test.avi and without transcode, and it works fine.
If I had the "output transcode", the VOD works too but unfortunately the transcoding is not taken into account and the stream can't be seen on mobile.
aax35.
First the output attribute shouldn't have quotes around it. It should start #transcode{...}

Second you should check out this thread because VOD doesn't work for http/mms. I'm guessing you aren't using rtsp:// URLs on your mobile.

http://www.videolan.org/doc/play-howto/ ... l#id293635

I suggest a way to setup VOD for http/mms access at the bottom of the thread. I haven't tested it or worked it all out. If you do I wouldn't mind seeing how you set it up.


Return to “VLM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests