Problem using VLM

Discussion about configuration and usage of VLM (a stream scheduler) within VLC.
mbrossard
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 May 2016 17:48

Problem using VLM

Postby mbrossard » 31 May 2016 17:00

Hello
I was previously using the VLC VLM System to produce a mosaic of 4 or 9 pictures from IPTV UDP stream.To do this, I used version 0.8.6i janus.
It worked very well.
The Conf code was :

Code: Select all

new channel1 broadcast enabled setup channel1 input udp://@225.1.1.10:1234 setup channel1 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=1,height=540,width=960},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=1},select=audio} new channel2 broadcast enabled setup channel2 input udp://@225.0.0.22:1234 setup channel2 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=2,height=540,width=960},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=2},select=audio} new channel3 broadcast enabled setup channel3 input udp://@225.0.0.23:1234 setup channel3 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=3,height=540,width=960},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=3},select=audio} new channel4 broadcast enabled setup channel4 input udp://@225.0.0.24:1234 setup channel4 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=4,height=540,width=960},select=video,dst=bridge-out{id=4},select=audio} new background2 broadcast enabled setup background2 input fake: setup background2 output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=mp2v,vb=8000,scale=1,desinterlace=1}:bridge-in{delay=400,id-offset=100}:standard{access=udp,mux=ts,url=225.1.11.251:1234} control channel1 play control channel2 play control channel3 play control channel4 play control background2 play
My old batch :

Code: Select all

taskkill /f /im vlc.exe "C:\VLC86i\vlc.exe" --color -I telnet --telnet-port=4215 --vlm-conf MosaiqueM6-3.conf --ttl 20 --fake-file MosaiqueM6-3.jpg --no-audio --fake-aspect-ratio "16:9" --mosaic-width 1920 --mosaic-height 1080 --udp-caching 800 --mosaic-xoffset 0 --mosaic-yoffset 0 --mosaic-keep-picture --mosaic-rows 2 --mosaic-cols 2 --mosaic-position 1 --mosaic-order 1,2,3,4
For some reason that I do not understand, the nature of flows must have changed, and now, the Script crashes VLC(even with simple VLC Play). The logs show some issues with PAFF interlacing and MBAFF, not supported by this version.
So I tried to redo the mosaic with the new version of VLC (2.2.2 WeatherWax)
No succes.
Here is my new Code:

Code: Select all

del all new channel1 broadcast enabled setup channel1 input udp://@225.0.0.21:1234 setup channel1 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=1,width=960,height=540} new channel2 broadcast enabled setup channel2 input udp://@225.0.0.22:1234 setup channel2 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=2,width=960,height=540} new channel3 broadcast enabled setup channel3 input udp://@225.0.0.23:1234 setup channel3 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=3,width=960,height=540} new channel4 broadcast enabled setup channel4 input udp://@225.0.0.24:1234 setup channel4 output #duplicate{dst=mosaic-bridge{id=4,width=960,height=540} new mosaic broadcast enabled setup mosaic input "C:\VLM\BKGD_HD.jpg" setup mosaic option image-duration=-1 setup mosaic output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=mp4v,vb=500,scale=1}:standard{access=udp,mux=ts,url=225.1.11.251:bridge-in{id-offset=100}:1234,sap,name="mosaic" control mosaic play control channel1 play control channel2 play control channel3 play control channel4 play
My new Batch :

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\vlc.exe" --color -I telnet --vlm-conf C:\VLM\CONFIG.vlm.conf --mosaic-width=1920 --mosaic-height=1080 --mosaic-keep-picture --mosaic-rows=2 --mosaic-cols=2 --mosaic-position=1 --mosaic-order=1,2,3,4, --ttl 12 --udp-caching 800
But this does not work at all.

The streams are read fine with VLC in normal mode (in display local or re-stream UDP) :

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\vlc.exe" udp://@225.0.0.21:1234:1234 --sout #std{access=udp,mux=ts,dst=225.1.11.251:1234}
However, even if I make a VLM with 1 single feed configuration full-screen without Background, as soon as I use VLM, this does not work.
My «Simple» Conf VLM :

Code: Select all

del all new channel1 broadcast enabled setup channel1 input udp://@225.0.0.21:1234 setup channel1 output #transcode{sfilter=mosaic,vcodec=mp4v,vb=500,scale=1}:display control channel1 play
The batch :

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\\vlc.exe" --color -I telnet --vlm-conf C:\VLM\CONFIG.vlm.conf --mosaic-width=1920 --mosaic-height=1080 --mosaic-keep-picture --mosaic-rows=1 --mosaic-cols=1 --mosaic-position=1 --mosaic-order=1, --ttl 12 --udp-caching 800
In this case, the image is displayed much degraded and I get full of RC buffer underflow error
Again, this stream works very well in playing VLC "Direct" and that’s why I really don’t understand.

I tried 1000 different configurations and I browsed all the topics I found on the subject on the web without success.
Someone have an idea?

Thanks in advance for your help
Have a Nice day
Mathieu

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: Problem using VLM

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 28 Jun 2016 09:22

Use -vvv to give us the logs, so we can diagnose the issue.
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.


Return to “VLM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests