VLM without telnet or http {SOLVED}

Discussion about configuration and usage of VLM (a stream scheduler) within VLC.
sozz
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 18:38

VLM without telnet or http {SOLVED}

Postby sozz » 15 Apr 2008 11:05

Hi,
I want to know if it is possible to use VLM capabilities without having to use telnet or http, I want to stream from a server to my network. And I'm managing the network using ssh.

What can I do? I use this command line

cvlc -vvvv --programs=1101,1102 dvb:// :dvb-adapter=0 :dvb-frequency=618000000 :dvb-bandwidth=8 :dvb-transmission=8 :dvb-guard=4 :dvb-modulation=64 :dvb-cache=512 --ts-es-id-pid --sout "#duplicate{dts=std{mux=ts,access=udp,dst=239.255.255.255:1234,name=Nederland-1},select="program=1101",dts=std{mux=ts,access=udp,dst=239.255.255.255:1235,name=Nederland-2},select="program=1102"}"


But it doesn't work because it stream both channels through the same IP port
Last edited by sozz on 02 Jun 2008 11:14, edited 1 time in total.

revolunet
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 515
Joined: 17 Oct 2007 13:16
VLC version: 0.9.8
Operating System: Vista
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby revolunet » 15 Apr 2008 17:10

you could create a vlm config file and pass it as --vlm-conf param at startup
VLC & web IT consulting - http://www.revolunet.com
Github : http://github.com/revolunet

sozz
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 18:38

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby sozz » 16 Apr 2008 15:21

you could create a vlm config file and pass it as --vlm-conf param at startup
Hi revolunet,
Thanks for trying to help me. I've been trying to do it, with that command:

Code: Select all

cvlc --vlm-conf conf.vlm
But I get that , didn't send any stream and stop at the "dummy interface: using the dummy interface module...":

Code: Select all

[00000001] main libvlc debug: VLC media player - version 0.9.0-git Grishenko - (c) 1996-2008 the VideoLAN team [00000001] main libvlc debug: libvlc was configured with ./configure '--prefix=/usr' '--host=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu' '--mandir=/usr/share/man' '--infodir=/usr/share/info' '--datadir=/usr/share' '--sysconfdir=/etc' '--localstatedir=/var/lib' '--disable-glide' '--disable-a52' '--disable-aa' '--enable-faad' '--disable-alsa' '--disable-altivec' '--disable-arts' '--disable-asademux' '--disable-bonjour' '--disable-fribidi' '--disable-cdda' '--disable-cddax' '--disable-libcddb' '--disable-libcdio' '--disable-csri' '--disable-daap' '--disable-dbus' '--disable-dbus-control' '--disable-dirac' '--disable-directfb' '--disable-dc1394' '--enable-debug' '--disable-dca' '--disable-dv' '--enable-dvb' '--enable-dvdread' '--enable-dvdplay' '--enable-dvdnav' '--disable-esd' '--disable-fb' '--enable-ffmpeg' '--disable-flac' '--disable-fluidsynth' '--disable-galaktos' '--disable-ggi' '--disable-gnomevfs' '--enable-gnutls' '--disable-hal' '--enable-httpd' '--disable-id3tag' '--disable-jack' '--disable-caca' '--enable-libgcrypt' '--disable-notify' '--disable-libtar' '--disable-lirc' '--disable-live555' '--disable-lua' '--enable-mkv' '--enable-mmx' '--disable-mod' '--enable-mad' '--enable-libmpeg2' '--disable-mpc' '--disable-musicbrainz' '--enable-ncurses' '--disable-mozilla' 'XPIDL=' 'MOZILLA_CONFIG=' '--enable-ogg' '--disable-glx' '--disable-opengl' '--disable-optimize-memory' '--disable-oss' '--enable-png' '--disable-portaudio' '--disable-pulse' '--enable-pvr' '--disable-qt4' '--disable-rtsp' '--disable-realrtsp' '--disable-smb' '--disable-sdl' '--disable-sdl-image' '--enable-shout' '--disable-skins2' '--disable-speex' '--enable-sse' '--disable-svg' '--disable-svgalib' '--disable-taglib' '--disable-theora' '--disable-freetype' '--disable-twolame' '--disable-upnp' '--enable-v4l' '--disable-v4l2' '--enable-vcd' '--disable-vcdx' '--disable-vorbis' '--disable-loader' '--disable-wxwidgets' 'WX_CONFIG=' '--disable-x11' '--disable-screen' '--disable-x264' '--disable-xinerama' '--disable-libxml2' '--disable-xosd' '--disable-xvideo' '--disable-xvmc' '--disable-zvbi' '--disable-libvc1' '--disable-snapshot' '--disable-growl' '--disable-optimizations' '--enable-utf8' '--enable-libtool' '--enable-fast-install' '--enable-vlm' '--enable-sout' '--libdir=/usr/lib64' '--build=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu' 'build_alias=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu' 'host_alias=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu' 'CFLAGS=-march=nocona -O2 -pipe' 'CXXFLAGS=-march=nocona -O2 -pipe' [00000001] main libvlc debug: translation test: code is "C" [00000322] dummy interface: using the dummy interface module...
My conf.vlm is that one:

Code: Select all

new PCI-1 broadcast enabled setup PCI-1 input "dvb:" setup PCI-1 output #standard{std{url=239.255.255.255:1233,name=Nederland-1},select="program=1101",std{url=239.255.255.255:1234,name=Nederland-2}$ setup PCI-1 option dvb-frequency=618000000 setup PCI-1 option dvb-adapter=1 setup PCI-1 option dvb-bandwidth=8 setup PCI-1 option dvb-transmission=8 setup PCI-1 option dvb-guard=4 setup PCI-1 option dvb-modulation=64 setup PCI-1 option dvb-cache=200 setup PCI-1 option sout-standard-mux=ts setup PCI-1 option sout-standard-access=udp setup PCI-1 option sout-standard-sap setup PCI-1 option ts-es-id-pid setup PCI-1 option programs=1101,1102,1103,1111,1112,1113,1114,1115,1116,1117,1118,1119

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby dionoea » 22 Apr 2008 15:30

There are 2 possible issues with your VLM configuration file:
  • you shouldn't put quotes around dvb://, this has been known to break some people's commands
  • you're missing the "control PCI-1 play" command.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

sozz
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 18:38

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby sozz » 25 Apr 2008 18:15

Code: Select all

new PCI-1 broadcast enabled setup PCI-1 input dvb:// setup PCI-1 output #standard{std{url=239.255.255.255:1234,name=Nederland-1},select="program=1101"} setup PCI-1 option dvb-frequency=618000000 setup PCI-1 option dvb-adapter=0 setup PCI-1 option dvb-bandwidth=8 setup PCI-1 option dvb-transmission=8 setup PCI-1 option dvb-guard=4 setup PCI-1 option dvb-modulation=64 setup PCI-1 option dvb-cache=200 setup PCI-1 option sout-standard-mux=ts setup PCI-1 option sout-standard-access=udp setup PCI-1 option ts-es-id-pid setup PCI-1 option programs=1101 control PCI-1 play
I pasted it again, because even after the modification that you (dionoea) suggest. I couldn't stream even just one single channel. Maybe something is wrong and I can see what is this! :(

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby dionoea » 07 May 2008 18:53

Hehe, I think that I found the issue. With VLC builds older than a month (so all stable releases), you need to use the telnet interface to load the vlm configuration. So you'll need vlc -I telnet --vlm-conf ... instead of cvlc --vlm-conf ... . If that's not the issue, please append -vvv to your command line and paste the full debug output here.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

sozz
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 26
Joined: 30 Jan 2008 18:38

Re: VLM without telnet or http

Postby sozz » 13 May 2008 18:24

I finally get it run!!!!! The problem was that i didn't emerge the v4l2 :oops:
Now that it finally start running I get and error:

Code: Select all

[00000389] main audio output error: couldn't find a filter for the conversion [00000389] main audio output error: couldn't create audio output pipeline


I saw that this problem is caused by the sound card. But I can stream a single channel or two channels if I use the 2 dvb cards that I have. Is a remote server.

Do I have to open a new post with that issue?

Thanks by the way :wink:


Return to “VLM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests