Runtime Text Overlay

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 30 Jan 2009 18:11

Hi,

I'm developing a browser plugin based on vlc.
I would like to add some text overlay like: "Buffering: 10%"...
I know it's possible to start vlc with --marq-marqee options,
or do the same through a remote control interface...
but what if I want to do it from the code of the plug-in?
Which libvlc function should I use?

Thanks!

draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 06 Feb 2009 14:00

ok... it seems to be "mediacontrol_display_text()"

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 23 Mar 2009 00:34

Did you managed?

draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 17 Apr 2009 17:43

yes, I could display some text with the mediacontrol_display_text()...
the problem is that I got some conflict with the deprecated playlist
module. so if you use the mediacontrol use only that and no playlist.
the other problem I got is that I wanted to display some 'buffering 10%'
message, but I cannot display any text with mediacontrol_display_text
if the video hasn't started playing.
still looking for a solution :(

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 19 Apr 2009 07:29

You know that you can activate VLC with rc and then connect with regular telnet client
and change marquee.
I intend to do so (i hope i'll manage).

How can you call mediacontrol_display_text() from outside of VLC? It is not part of libvlc, right?

Tamiro.

draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 21 Apr 2009 15:32

Actually mediacontrol_display_text() should be part of libvlc
since you can include it from vlc/mediacontrol.h.
depending on what you mean from "outside", you can use the display_text
function from the python bindings, java bindings (I guess), or from other
interfaces like the rc interface (telnet :wink: ).
anyway I'm trying from "inside" the activex control using functions/modules
compatible with the deprecated playlist object (osd? spu? ...?)... still looking for a solution...
Good luck!

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 21 Apr 2009 17:55

I'm using Marx_libvlc_wrapper (C#), How can i use display_text?

draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 22 Apr 2009 17:26

I'm sorry, I don't know this wrapper...
I tried to download Marx_libvlc_wrapper and look for mediacontrol/display_text
support but I couldn't find anything. I think this framework doesn't offer
anything like that. Did you had any luck with the telnet solution?

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 23 Apr 2009 09:11

Yes (with a few problems).
I intend to upload these days a simple C# code that do the trick.
I'll let you know personally..

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 26 Apr 2009 17:20

Draba,
Here is my sample to change text overlay on runtime:
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58587
Ask me if you have any questions.

draba
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Oct 2008 13:37

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby draba » 27 Apr 2009 13:28

Thanks!
If I'm not able to use the mediacontrol interface
now I know how to backup with the telnet solution ;)

tamiro44
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Feb 2009 15:21

Re: Runtime Text Overlay

Postby tamiro44 » 21 Oct 2009 16:09

Did you managed with mediacontrol_display_text()?


Return to “General VLC media player Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: naturelover44115 and 23 guests