wrong time & length in web interface

Discussion about configuration and usage of VLM (a stream scheduler) within VLC.
igorh
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Oct 2006 23:45
Location: Massachusetts, USA

wrong time & length in web interface

Postby igorh » 04 Oct 2006 23:54

Hi, i'm using the VLM web interface of vlc (version 8.5) and the times reported in the broadcasts is incorrect. It's reported correctly in the VLM gui interface, but it seems that the integers are overflowing in the web ui. has anyone else come accross this? any fixes or workarounds? I've searched around and haven't found anything.

Thanks in advance
-igor

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 06 Oct 2006 15:22

Any simple way to reproduce this ?
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

igorh
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 14
Joined: 04 Oct 2006 23:45
Location: Massachusetts, USA

creating a broadcast of a long video file will cause it

Postby igorh » 06 Oct 2006 16:45

If you create a broadcast in VLM with a file that's pretty large (say 2.5 hours or larger) and start playing it, you will see this.

if you look at the broadcast in the Windows GUI, it will have the correct time. If you look at the broadcast in the web-based (http://host:8080/vlm.html) interface, you will see that the times are incorrect.

(and if you look at the XML being returned in something like a packet sniffer, like Ethereal, you will see that sometimes the times are being returned as negative values). The telnet interface aslo returns the wrong length.

For instance, a broadcast of a 25 minute .mpg has length: 1,500,567,588
a broadcast of 2 hours, 38 minute .mpg has length: 917,578,977

Thanks again,
-igor

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 07 Oct 2006 13:00

ok, thanks. I'll fix that.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 16 Oct 2006 21:04

Was this filed as a bug in Trac? Could we get the Bug number so we could follow the status? It would also help as to where in the codebase this bug is happening.

thanks.

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 15:44

Nope ... i forgot about it :) You can fill a ticket in trac to be sure that i don't forget once more ...
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 17 Oct 2006 15:59

Which component should we file it under?

Due to some deadlines, we would need a fix for this ASAP (In the next week or 2). Where in the code is this problem, perhaps we could file a bug fix.

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 16:02

I can't give you any time estimate :) I do this durring my free time (and for free).

You can file the bug under "HTTP interface" or any equivalent category in trac. Source code for the http interface is in modules/control/http/
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 17 Oct 2006 18:31

I can't give you any time estimate :) I do this durring my free time (and for free).

You can file the bug under "HTTP interface" or any equivalent category in trac. Source code for the http interface is in modules/control/http/
Thanks for the help,

If we could find where the problem occurs, we could send in a bug fix. We don't care who fixes it, just as long as we can use it, since another piece of our project relies on this functionality.

I filed this as bug 779 here: https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/779

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 17 Oct 2006 21:20

Could the problem be casting a number that is too large into an int?

http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/browser/tr ... ttp.c#L522

Code: Select all

var_Get( p_sys->p_input, "time", &val); sprintf( time, "%d" , (int)(val.i_time / 1000000) );
Last edited by eclip5e on 17 Oct 2006 22:07, edited 1 time in total.

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 22:05

Yes, that's exactly what i was thinking about.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 22:06

but it's not position that we have a problem with :) (position is a percentage, it can't overflow)
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 17 Oct 2006 22:07

Sorry, I meant this:

Code: Select all

var_Get( p_sys->p_input, "time", &val); sprintf( time, "%d" , (int)(val.i_time / 1000000) );
Any suggestions? (I don't code c).

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 22:16

Should be fixed ( https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/changeset/17130 ) in 0.9.0 svn.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 17 Oct 2006 22:39

Great, thanks! Would you mark the bug as fixed, and wait for a tirage period?

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 17 Oct 2006 22:59

You should give it a try first.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 18 Oct 2006 18:56

I talked to a few guys on IRC about problems with the win32 nightlies, and finally got the new trunk build as of this morning: 0.9.0-svn-20061018-1453.

I tested it on a 2 hour broadcast, and the time failed again, resulting in a negative value.

Code: Select all

<instance name="default" state="playing" position="0.733578" time="-1097172696" length="1162361200" rate="1000" title="0" chapter="0" seekable="1" playlistindex="1"/>
Looks like the change didn't fix the problem:
http://trac.videolan.org/vlc/changeset/ ... ttp/http.c

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 18 Oct 2006 23:16

Ok, this problem isn't http interface specific. Time reported in the telnet interface was wrong too. It should now be fixed.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)

eclip5e
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 13
Joined: 16 Oct 2006 21:02
Contact:

Postby eclip5e » 19 Oct 2006 17:52

W00t! Fixed.

Thanks to dionoea for the quick turnaround on this, its helped with our project a lot!

Fix part 1: https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/changeset/17130
Fix part 2: https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/changeset/17140

What is the bug triage process to set fixed/closed/verified for bug #779?
https://trac.videolan.org/vlc/ticket/779

dionoea
Cone Master
Cone Master
Posts: 5157
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:09
Location: Paris, France

Postby dionoea » 19 Oct 2006 22:37

I closed the ticket.
Antoine Cellerier
dionoea
(Please do not use private messages for support questions)


Return to “VLM”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests