Big problem with VLC.. and an easy fix?

For questions and discussion that is NOT (I repeat NOT) specific to a certain Operating System.
puntloos
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

Big problem with VLC.. and an easy fix?

Postby puntloos » 18 Jul 2006 15:37

Short version:
- Right now, under certain, often-occuring conditions, VLC will simply stop playing/encoding/transcoding video. Fairly easily reproducable.
- Also, while I have no insight in the complexities of VLC, and I am not a coder, I think that a 'quick and dirty' fix that will at least IMPROVE things is easy to make.

Now the longer version.

- If the source (stream/file/whatever) is slow, for any reason (network hiccup, cdrom with dust requiring re-reads). VLC starts seeing 'late pictures' which it skips. Often, it never recovers.
- One constant in all of this, whether you're playing or {en/trans}coding is that VLC starts giving messages:

Code: Select all

late picture skipped (2688000) late picture skipped (2998000) late picture skipped (3797000)
- I suspect it has to do with a difference in the timestamp the source sends, and the timestamp VLC feels it has to play next.
- If the user told VLC to 'play' or 'encode' something, they will probably want SOMETHING, and a big hiccup OR an exit with a big error message is better than VLC just running forever without doing anything after a while.

The solution, well, I am sure that an ELEGANT solution would be difficult to make, it would probably require all the various input systems to have new API features that present the source of this problem uniformly etc etc etc. I probably can't begin to comprehend the complexity of this

But a quick and practical fix can be simple.. I think..:

- Offer us a few commandline switches that allow us to specify when to restart the VLC decoder completely. Some kind of automatic panic button.

For example some (mostly?) hypothetical optional settings:
--max-late-pictures <int> (self-explanatory Id say)