How to do a multicast? thank you!

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
tiantao
Blank Cone
Blank Cone

How to do a multicast? thank you!

Postby tiantao » 17 Mar 2004 11:00

hi, i am a newbie. and i don't know how to multicast video using vcl.
I tried it in school, we are lan network here.
i choose open a local file, and stream it on a udp 219.224.141.88:1234 output. (my ip is just 219.224.140.88, i wrong here? )
i use a vcl on my classmates' computer whose ip is 219.224.141.87, i choose retrive udp from 219.224.140.88:1234.
but nothing happened, who warmhearted can tell me what's wrong i made?
thank you for read this and i am sorry about my poor english.
i appriciat you very much if u can understand what i am saying:)
i didn't write things of English for such a long time

markfm
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna

Postby markfm » 17 Mar 2004 19:02

If you want to multicast, on the server you need to type in a multicast address in the space next to "UDP". You do not need to actually change the PC's IP address -- multicast addresses act like TV or radio frequencies, general-use addresses.

Try typing in 239.20.30.40 (port 1234 is fine).

On your friend's PC, select Open Network Stream, then UDP multicast, and type in 239.20.30.40 in the address field (again, port 1234 is OK).

The other general streaming method is point-to-point. If you just want to send from your Server PC to your friend's PC, on the server type in your friend's address in the space next to UDP (e.g., type in 219.224.141.87). Then, on your friend's PC, select the first UDP option -- the one with no address field next to it, click OK, and he/she should be connected. (when receiving a stream, the first option is specifically there for point-to-point mode, where the server is targeting the client's IP address)