Video output callbacks and sample aspect ratio

This forum is about all development around libVLC.
sherington
Cone that earned his stripes
Cone that earned his stripes
VLC version: master
Operating System: Linux

Video output callbacks and sample aspect ratio

Postby sherington » 09 Mar 2019 08:50

I've been doing some work with video output callbacks, and everything was fine until I started playing DVDs (well, DVD ISO actually).

The video appeared squashed horizontally which I eventually realised was due to the sample aspect ratio for the DVDs being something other than 1:1 - prior to this every video I played was mp4 or flv or something, and it always looked right so I never considered the SAR.

If I know the SAR I can render the video properly, indeed I have this working hackishly and my DVD ISOs now render with proper scaling.

However... my problem is how to reliably know the correct SAR when I am rendering?

As far as I know the only place the SAR is available is, eventually but not immediately, via libvlc_media_tracks_get. And this is fine, I can deal with that.

But the above is just the background, finally onto my question...

In principle I suppose there could be multiple video tracks. So I'm thinking I should use libvlc_video_get_track to get the current video track identifier, and then use that identifier to get the corresponding video track structure from libvlc_media_tracks_get.

The problem with that idea is there does not seem to be a hard link between that current video track identifier and the id field in the structures returned by libvlc_media_tracks_get. Indeed, in the case of DVD the libvlc_video_get_track returns 224, but 224 is nowhere to be found in the track data returned by libvlc_media_tracks_get.

I can't just assume and get always get the first video track and use the SAR from that, since other media may well multiple video tracks presumably with different SAR.