[Error] Duplicate a stream

About encoding, codec settings, muxers and filter usage
Francoyy
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2008 19:02

[Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Francoyy » 23 May 2008 18:19

Hi, I'm trying to duplicate a stream into 2 outputs.
vlc -vvv C:\Movie.wmv --sout "#duplicate{dst=display,
dst=transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=500,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=32,channels=2}:rtp{mux=ts,dst=127.0.0.1:1234,sdp=C:\vlc.sdp}}
That just doesn't work.. any idea why ? The "dst=display" is done, not the second dst..
main error: invalid chain
stream_out_transcode error: cannot create chain

Francoyy
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2008 19:02

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Francoyy » 26 May 2008 22:14

up

Francoyy
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2008 19:02

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Francoyy » 27 May 2008 00:30

apparently VLC can't make two simultaneous (and different) transcodings of an input stream, though it is said to be possible in VLC's doc

Arite
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 2478
Joined: 26 Jun 2007 20:40
VLC version: 3.0.20
Operating System: Debian Testing|Win10

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Arite » 27 May 2008 01:29

What do you want to do? Transcode to h264 and mp4a and then stream via rtp and display the output?

Try e.g.:

Code: Select all

vlc -vvv C:\Movie.wmv --sout "#transcode{vcodec=h264,vb=500,scale=1,acodec=mp4a,ab=32,channels=2} :duplicate{dst=display,dst=std{access=rtp,mux=ts,dst=127.0.0.1:1234,sdp=C:\vlc.sdp}}"
Arite.
Don't use PMs for support questions.

Francoyy
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2008 19:02

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Francoyy » 27 May 2008 17:05

Hi, thanks for your reply,

Actually I would like to transcode differently the two streams with one command : the goal is to save some webcam stream with a good quality in a file, and in a cheap quality in live streaming. So I would have to do something like this :
--sout "#duplicate{dst=transcode{etc}:standard{access=file,url="..."}, dst=transcode{etc2}:rtp{dst=servername,sdp=file:/...}}"

But no matter what, vlc can't seem to understand the dst=transcode

However it figures on the VLC tutorial http://www.videolan.org/doc/streaming-h ... /ch04.html
% vlc -vvv input_stream --sout '#duplicate{dst=
rtp{mux=ts,dst=239.255.1.2,sap,name="OriginalStream"},
dst="transcode{vcodec=mp4v,acodec=mpga,vb=800,ab=128}:
rtp{mux=ts,dst=239.255.1.3,sap,name="TranscodedStream"}"}'

Arite
Big Cone-huna
Big Cone-huna
Posts: 2478
Joined: 26 Jun 2007 20:40
VLC version: 3.0.20
Operating System: Debian Testing|Win10

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Arite » 27 May 2008 18:36

Interesting - the Streaming Howto suggests that one can nest the transcode module within the duplicate module. The commandline I used was:

Code: Select all

vlc INPUT_FILE --sout "#duplicate{dst=display,dst="transcode{vcodec=mp4v,vb=1024,scale=0.5,acodec=mpga,ab=192,channels=2} :duplicate{dst=std{access=file,mux=ts,dst="OUTPUT_FILE"}}"}"
However VLC returns:

Code: Select all

main error: invalid chain stream_out_transcode error: cannot create chain
It could still be a syntax problem, or perhaps the current versions of VLC don't support the sout string described in the Streaming Howto.

Arite.
Don't use PMs for support questions.

Francoyy
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 20 May 2008 19:02

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Francoyy » 27 May 2008 20:33

hmm so if the transcode module can't be nested in the duplicate module, I would have to duplicate the stream into two files/stream, and then open those two files/streams with vlc and transcode them the way I want ? that seems to a very dirty solution :s

Stancho
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Jul 2008 21:39

Re: [Error] Duplicate a stream

Postby Stancho » 11 Jul 2008 22:32

Hello all,

Francoyy, did you find a solution of this problem?
I would like to have 2 different streams from 1 webcam using vlc...

Thank you


Return to “VLC stream-output (sout)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests