Changing VLC player size, channel, volume from host server

All you've ever wanted to know about the ActiveX, Mozilla plugins, the web interface and various PHP extensions
vlcfirsttime
New Cone
New Cone

Changing VLC player size, channel, volume from host server

Postby vlcfirsttime » 12 Jul 2018 18:48

Hello,

I must apologize first, that I am a complete beginner at programming and also my capability of English is poor, so I might asking this question on a wrong place or maybe nonsense idea.
This is our new project as follows:
One of my client asked me to build a system to show a TV broadcast or a original tourism video on several TV displays which are settle in a Hotel, Shopping center, or other places.
Each display will be connected to a PC by HDMI, and also connected to the LAN.
The host server computer needs to control the VLC player's(or the software which embeds the VLC) size, location on the screen, channel, volume which are installed to the client PC.
We need to change the size and the location of the VLC player because we are going to show other information on the screen such as web page or image data on both side or under the player.
We have succeed to play the TV broadcast by using USB type TV tuner on each client PC and play the movie file an local hard disk.
Although, I do not know how that I can remote control the channel and the size of the player from the host server.
We have employed one programmer to solve this problem, and he suggested to use some kind of API to control the VLC player, but it seems that his computer environment(Linux, debian?) will not succeed to control after compiling the program using the API.
He says that this API might work by using different operating system such as Ubuntu, but we are not sure that the operating system is the problem or not.
Maybe we should use Windows OS instead, but we want to use Linux OS for the client PC.
This is our problem now, and we do not know how to use the API control for VLC.