VLC passing volume control to system

Microsoft Windows specific usage questions
Forum rules
Please post only Windows specific questions in this forum category. If you don't know where to post, please read the different forums' rules. Thanks.
VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby VLC_help » 21 Aug 2010 18:44

Yep. Patch hasn't been merged.

AgeKay
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Aug 2010 12:09

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby AgeKay » 22 Aug 2010 12:15

Thanks for the heads up on the version. This has been annoying me so much lately that I almost forgot that there was a version were this wasn't the case. I hope there is a patch or official fix for 1.1.3 soon. I can't believe it's taking them so long. Fixing this in code would take 1 minute. Please post here when either patch or fix is available. Thanks!

AgeKay
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Aug 2010 12:09

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby AgeKay » 22 Aug 2010 13:09

Oh --please stay polite--, 1.0.5 isn't a good solution either because it doesn't respond to media controls at all. So the best solution so far is the 1.1.2 with the patch that someone kindly uploaded. Thanks for that, btw.

wireman121
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 12
Joined: 30 Jul 2008 21:45

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby wireman121 » 02 Sep 2010 19:06

not fixed in 1.1.4 either

_yak_
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Sep 2010 13:45

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby _yak_ » 05 Sep 2010 13:54

Hi all, big thanks to DataGhost for providing the patch.

After looking at the original and patched DLLs and comparing that to the new one from 1.1.4 I managed to come up with a general patch that I quickly coded in Python:

Code: Select all

PATH_SRC = r'c:\program files\videolan\vlc\plugins\libqt4_plugin.dll' PATH_DST = r'libqt4_plugin.dll' src = open(PATH_SRC, 'rb') data = src.read() src.close() s = 'unknown APPCOMMAND = %d\x00' pos = data.index(s) + len(s) if pos % 4 > 0: pos += 4 - pos % 4 t = data[pos + 32 : pos + 36] data = data[:pos] + t * 3 + data[pos + 12:] dst = open(PATH_DST, 'wb') dst.write(data) dst.close()
Here's the patched DLL from VLC 1.1.4:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2081159/libqt4_plugin.dll

Works perfect for me.

AgeKay
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Aug 2010 12:09

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby AgeKay » 05 Sep 2010 16:14

Another thing that is really annoying is that it doesn't listen to system playback controls (play, pause, stop, next, previous) when not in focus, i.e. window is not active. this makes it basically useless for listening to music.

ExpHP
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Aug 2010 18:37

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby ExpHP » 07 Sep 2010 18:12

AgeKay, if you set up the Media Play/Pause/etc. keys as Global Hotkeys in preferences, they should be able to control VLC regardless of whether or not it has focus. I have no issue controlling VLC when it's in the background. However, note that you will need to close anything else that could use those keys (such as Windows Media Player) before opening VLC, because only one program can use a global hotkey at a time.
(for this reason, you probably should also "Allow only one instance" in the Interface tab of Preferences)

I've just updated to version 1.1.4, and I'm eager to try out the python patch.

ekrane
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Oct 2010 16:21

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby ekrane » 10 Oct 2010 16:58

Does anybody knows how to deal with this problem in the 1.1.4 build? Hex address 8A5390 holds some other values than the one for 1.1.2.

Thanks

Fangs404
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 8
Joined: 25 Jul 2010 10:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby Fangs404 » 12 Oct 2010 05:12

Does anybody knows how to deal with this problem in the 1.1.4 build? Hex address 8A5390 holds some other values than the one for 1.1.2.

Thanks
I haven't tried it, but I believe _yak_'s post a few up will solve the problem.

[edit]
Yup, it works! The only thing I had to do was slightly modify his Python script. If you're on Vista or Win7, the first line of the script will be this:

Code: Select all

PATH_SRC = r'C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\plugins\libqt4_plugin.dll'

pianorave
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Sep 2010 04:21

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby pianorave » 25 Oct 2010 16:03

Can someone please compile the python DLL with the change Fangs404 just posted. I need this patch for Vista :/

pianorave
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Sep 2010 04:21

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby pianorave » 27 Oct 2010 17:10

Is noone able to help me out with the python? : (

Why has this issue still not been resolved anyway??

pianorave
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Sep 2010 04:21

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby pianorave » 02 Nov 2010 23:59

bump?

eryksun
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 17:57

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby eryksun » 10 Nov 2010 06:12

Hi all, big thanks to DataGhost for providing the patch. After looking at the original and patched DLLs and comparing that to the new one from 1.1.4 I managed to come up with a general patch that I quickly coded in Python:
Thanks DataGhost and _yak_. Patching with a Python script was a good idea.

ledow
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Nov 2010 11:42

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby ledow » 14 Nov 2010 11:46

Same python patch also works on 1.5, which still suffers from the bug. Thanks all, this patch makes my usage of VLC so much better.

poch333
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 1
Joined: 20 Nov 2010 01:21

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby poch333 » 20 Nov 2010 01:33

Yes this was very annoying and still present in 1.1.5. A pity since VLC might be the best player out there.

Luckily _yak_'s python script worked like a charm (won't work with Python 3 though), and I've uploaded the DLL for other users' convenience.

libqt4_plugin.dl:
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?qxkalm53x7i76yy

Just copy into the /plugins folder.

Enjoy.

xuchibara
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 5
Joined: 29 Jul 2010 03:30

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby xuchibara » 01 Dec 2010 01:59

I'm amazed that this isn't being more attentively addressed - how are more users not affected by this oversight? Is it really so difficult to fix something that used to work perfectly?

Thanks to the user base for plugging holes - you guys are awesome.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby VLC_help » 01 Dec 2010 16:14

It is just that proper fix is hard thing to do. We would have to pass all hotkeys to hotkey module + add many options to there (like rebinds and possible forwards).

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 02 Dec 2010 12:25

Isn't that fixed now?
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby VLC_help » 02 Dec 2010 16:15

Isn't that fixed now?
No. I tested with VLC 1.1.6-git-20101202-0202 and mute button in keyboard still goes mutes both VLC and Windows audio mixer. And volume keys still lower both VLC and Windows volumes.

Jean-Baptiste Kempf
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 37523
Joined: 22 Jul 2005 15:29
VLC version: 4.0.0-git
Operating System: Linux, Windows, Mac
Location: Cone, France
Contact:

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby Jean-Baptiste Kempf » 05 Dec 2010 00:31

It is fixed in 1.2.0 and I just backported to 1.1.6
Jean-Baptiste Kempf
http://www.jbkempf.com/ - http://www.jbkempf.com/blog/category/Videolan
VLC media player developer, VideoLAN President and Sites administrator
If you want an answer to your question, just be specific and precise. Don't use Private Messages.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby VLC_help » 05 Dec 2010 15:55

Yep. Now the hotkeys only have effect to VLC.

Scrappy
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 11
Joined: 29 Nov 2010 20:45

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby Scrappy » 06 Dec 2010 22:47

I want the opposite (VLC ignores the volume keys and only the OS processes them) - is this possible ?

All other applications work like this, I'd like VLC to also. I want VLC is just use the standard audio system and do no volume control whatsoever (or any other kind of sound alteration).

fluffysquirrels
New Cone
New Cone
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Dec 2010 14:54

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby fluffysquirrels » 07 Dec 2010 15:06

You can track progress on this issue here.

Summary: opinions differ on what the behaviour should be for VLC. A configuration option can be added to switch between VLC responding to volume controls vs system responding to volume controls. I'll be writing the code for this soon.

VLC_help
Mega Cone Master
Mega Cone Master
Posts: 25661
Joined: 13 Sep 2006 14:16

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby VLC_help » 07 Dec 2010 18:35

I want the opposite (VLC ignores the volume keys and only the OS processes them) - is this possible ?
I can add support for this.

Scrappy
Blank Cone
Blank Cone
Posts: 11
Joined: 29 Nov 2010 20:45

Re: VLC passing volume control to system

Postby Scrappy » 09 Dec 2010 16:20

That would be superb! Thanks!


Return to “VLC media player for Windows Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 57 guests